RSS

Committed to “Committed” friends! ;)

17 May

This is something that I have come across over the last few years of my life. Dunno exactly since when, but knowingly or unknowingly its been happening…all along. Initially I thought that it had to do with only the gals. But NO. Guys too…
Well nothing serious, but off-late I have been realizing that most of my friends (new and old) seem to have a committed status. And I seriously think that being “committed” has something to do with me cos they either get committed after getting to know me or they are already committed prior to knowing me. Not that I am big time pissed off about it or something. But its just a thought that keeps coming to my mind.Β  I am now wondering as to how this has been recurring, and most importantly how I didn’t get a hint about it in the course of time.
Let me try to remember as far as I can, about such cases.
The earliest I can now remember is that of a friend of mine in class 11. Ours was an all-guys college. But within-a-km radius we had as many as three all-girls college. So we never felt that we graduated from an all-guys colleges. He was one of those studious types but by the time he graduated, he was ready for the world. He used to kinda go missing in all our leisure times, and it took us a while to get to know why. πŸ˜‰
And then there was this friend during my college days. She had tough times when it came to guys (most of the times, it used to be the guys who had a tough time dealing with her…she was one of those hot-in-the-head types)…But then she got to know me, we became good friends and one fine day, Voila! She lets me know that she’s committed. Took me a long while to understand the gravity of the situation. Not that I looked upon her in any other manner or something, but such a sudden change wasn’t so easily or rather quickly expected! And that’s when, I guess my tryst with committed folks began. πŸ˜€
Take the case of this guy who used to shudder while talking to any age group of the fairer gender. He became my classmate, roommate and finally the tides changed and so did his status on Orkut. He’s now happily married (oxy-moron I know…but as of now, he seem to be!) πŸ˜€

And this trend turned more common when I joined my work place. As I underwent training, I got to know this guy sitting next to me and over the days we became close buddies and one fine day he showed me the picture of his sweetheart hidden in the corner of his wallet.
My roommate in the accomodation, got committed within months of joining. Call him lucky!??? πŸ˜‰Β  I am committed to my friends I guess! πŸ˜›
And then as I moved out of my training to the greener pastures of coding, this situation still remained the same. There was this BA (Business Analyst) who was like very cute and the center of attraction of our bay. A few of us planned to go to her and introduce ourselves. We did that and within a month of knowing her, she sent us an invite to her wedding.  Now call that damned luck! 😦
Internal Blogging happened, and I got to know quite a lot of friends, a major percentage being the gals. And now when I sit and think of the names of my lady blogger friends, 60% of them seem to be committed. Now you would say, there are still that 40% left. Yeah, they are indeed left but they include the engaged and married ones too. So statistically, the ones with Single Status is a mere 10% (might even be less, cos I’m not exactly sure!). 😦
Over these years, I seem to make a lot of friends which is good. But over a period of time, when/if I don’t get to know their status…I tend to ask them, which is not so good. Sometimes I have faced the brunt of it with “Could you mind your own business?” kinda one liners, especially when I’ve asked the PYTs! πŸ˜‰ But such one-off bad experiences haven’t seemed to have stopped me from asking “doubts”!! πŸ˜‰
I am committed to my friends, and they are “committed” too!! πŸ˜‰ Looking at all this, my only wish…when I get married is to have someone committed, BUT TO ME!! πŸ˜›

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2008 in Friends

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Committed to “Committed” friends! ;)

  1. Narang

    May 18, 2008 at 11:04 am

    Nice writeup sree ….free flowing ..enjoyed reading it …I m also committed to one thing …N thats reading ur blogs !! :):):)

     
  2. Niveditha

    May 18, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    want a wife committed to u eh??? u have to find a girl for that first.. and going by ur track record finding someone single is hard enuf.. lolz.. anyways.. all the best.. do feel free to ask for help if u need any introductions… πŸ˜‰

     
  3. Sree

    May 18, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    @ Moto,

    Wow…that was one cute comment..thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ Nivs,

    Yeah, I’ll catch hold of u the moment I need help to find someone…till then do keep collecting possible options! πŸ˜‰
    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
