RSS

I did see Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na…finally!! :D

08 Jul

Yeah…finally I did get to see Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na (JTYJN) at this Sunday matinee. I just got 3 words to say “I loved it”!! 😀
This can be (but should not be) taken as a review…or (and) can simply be considered as a write-up about something I had been impatiently waiting to watch since over a fortnight. Initially it was a struggle to get the tickets and then it was the excitement of the last minute wait…and finally it was pleasure of reaching the theatre half an hour prior to the start and again impatiently waiting for a friend to arrive (inspite of his informing that he would be there in 5 minutes time, it seemed eternity). So finally at 2:45 pm, the five of us were inside the theatre loaded with popcorns, fountain coke, puffs and something-the-name-of-which-I-forgot 😛 and were cracking pathetic jokes (all out of uncontrollable excitement I guess) just to push time till 3pm, the show-time!! 🙂
And suddenly we fell silent as the credits were being shown and then it was just magic. 😉 
Aditi (Genelia) and Jai (Imraan) were introduced in a manner what could be called as a “cliched” loss of a dear Radha!! One of my senti friend almost started to sob (initially she did warn about her sensitivity meter, but didn’t guess it would be this sensitive) but laughed out loud when she got to know that Radha was after-all a cat…the PETA ppl could take this as an opportunity to sue her for laughing loud over at a cat’s death. 😛
Then suddenly the songs come one after the other…was it only me who felt so…I felt that the songs were packed and played one behind the other…anyways, never mind. “Kabhi Kabhi Aditi….” was shot beautifully…with Aditi not looking at her best (when compared to rest of the movie), maybe cos this song was supposed to cheer her up…anyways, post this song she was mirror-cracking! 😀
From my female friend’s point of view, Imraan was cute (nah…cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuttttteeeeeeee is what she had said!!)…danced as a college student should…behaved decent…and at the end (if not throughout the movie) was brave enough to defend the love of his life. I had to talk about Imraam from her views, as I was busy admiring Aditi!! Sigh!
I loved the roles of Rathna Pathak Shah (Jai’s mom) and Naseeruddin Shah (Jai’s deceased dad….he’s got a cameo role…same costume, and talks out of photo frame…just like the late Priya Tendulkar did in the Zee TV series “Hum Paanch”)!!! Rathna was mindblowing and she essayed her role of a cautious mom and a social activist (I think!!) perfectly to the brim. 😀
Genelia and Imraan were cool in their respective roles…Pratiek Babbar who plays Amit too has done justice to his role as a nerdy brother of Aditi!! Sohail and Arbaaz Khan play cameo’s which seemed to be forced into the movie just to make it more comical…we need to tickle ourselves to feel so though!! 😉
I liked the nicknames of Ratz (for Jai) and Meow (for Aditi)…Meow reminded me of someone I refer to by that name!! 😉
Manjari has portrayed her part as Meghana pretty well!! At one point in the movie, she seemed to be like the main heroine, as she was in every other scene…she also gets to do the ultimate sacrifice in the end by letting go of Jai….that made me feel she was infact the lead heroine…but I guess, the one who gets to take the cake, gets to lick the cream!! 😀
The set of friends Aditi and Jai had were simply awesome…I loved Jignes(h) the best among all…he himself inviting his friends for his surprise birthday party was hilarious…so was his gujju accented Hindi!! 😀
The other seriously hilarious part is when their friend, whom they call Rondhu (who had hearts for Aditi) sees Aditi and Jai together and ends up at the bar asking for coca-cola…and that too “on the rocks” for the first gulp (peg) and then a stronger second peg!! And the bartendar says “Sambhalo apne aap ko” or something, or did I just imagine it? Anyways, we laughed like crazy over it!! 😉
The storyline I felt was cliched…could remember Kuch Kuch Hota Hey…but it were the songs and the awesome music by AR Rahman, that kept the mood upbeat throughout the movie…the song “Jaane tu mera kya hey…” sung by Sukhwinder is not a part of the movie and was thoroughly missed!! 😦
Overall, a pleasant experience to watch with either family or friends…its simply awesome…I don’t wanna spoil the fun by rating the movie…Just wanna say, I am really obsessed by Aditi just as much or actually a little more than my female friends were smitten by Imraan!! 😛
Go watch it if you still haven’t… 😀

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2008 in I~do~such~things, Movies

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “I did see Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na…finally!! :D

  1. aparna

    July 8, 2008 at 8:52 am

    aa Really!

     
  2. Niveditha

    July 8, 2008 at 10:24 am

    lolz.. so finally got to see the movie eh?
    //One of my senti friend almost started to sob (initially she did warn about her sensitivity meter, but didn’t guess it would be this sensitive) but laughed out loud when she got to know that Radha was after-all a cat…the PETA ppl could take this as an opportunity to sue her for laughing loud over at a cat’s death.

    did u have to make so much fun of ur friend?? poor thing! 😛

    i too liked the movie just for the simplicity of the characters.. could relate to them very easily..
    as for imraan… i totally agree…
    he is cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuteeeeeee! 🙂

     
  3. Sree

    July 8, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    @ Aparna,

    Ya really!! 😉
    You saw right?? you didnt tell me, how it was!! 😦
    Thanks buddy!! 😀

    @ Nive,

    Yeah finally saw!! 😀
    hehe…she’s fine with me saying the truth about her!! 😉
    Hehe….typical girlish behaviour!! 😀
    Thanks buddy! 😀

     
  4. aparna

    July 9, 2008 at 8:57 am

    \\You saw right??\\ Yes i did, first day first show.
    \\you didnt tell me, how it was!! \\ First wanted to know how you liked the movie…..After knowing that i am afraid to tell you…you might not like what i want to say abt the movie…and agian if u become ‘gussa’ …i yam gone:(

     
  5. Prem

    July 9, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Dude … my wife;s been pestering me & I’ve been putting it off … guess I will watch it now 😉

     
  6. Sree

    July 9, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    @ Aparna,

    Haha…now we have settled this offline na, so I would just say thanks for visiting! 😀

    @ Prem,

    Nice to see you here sir!! 😀
    Pls do take your wife…I support her in this regard! 😉
    Let me know your views on it…go without any expectations and just to enjoy!! 😀
    Thanks for visiting! 😀

     
  7. ishika

    July 10, 2008 at 3:39 am

    hmmmmm………i luv diz movie n i luv yuh imraan yuh rock…….

     
  8. ishika

    July 10, 2008 at 3:41 am

    [:)][:p][/)]

     
  9. Sree

    July 10, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    @ Ishika,

    Thanks a lot…yeah…I prefer to give most of my attention to Genelia though! 😉
    Keep visiting! 😀

     
  10. bluediamond aka AKB

    July 11, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    going to watch it this sunday… didnt read ur review or this post!!! 😛

     
  11. Sree

    July 11, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    @ AKB,

    Wow…great…let me know your reactions here about it…like it or not…but go with no expectations, is my advice!! 😀
    Thanks buddy….do get back and read! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
