RSS

Emotional Cocktails!! ;)

25 Jul

I call this the “Emotional Cocktail”…what do you call it?
Have you ever been happy and sad at the same time? Ever been emotionally excited? What do you do then? How do you handle the unusual situation?
This happens to me all the time…and here are some of the instances that happened off-late:

Β 

Episode #1: Pirated Parody

Well it was my first attempt at writing a parody and when I was done with “Muthu can’t code saala“, I was one satisfied guy. Right on the same day, I posted it here and 2-3 days later I posted it on my internal corporate blog. I was glad to see that my regular readers and a few strangers were impressed with the outcome. The response on my internal blog was, as usual awesome. I was happy with what was happening with my first parody. The following week, I got a forward with subject line as “Pappu can’t code saala”…It was sent to me by a fellow blogger with the matter, “Dude, you are becoming famous….”…the only change in the forward compared to my parody was the renaming of “Muthu” back to “Pappu”…And on reading it, I got to know that it was copied from here (there were minute differences in the versions here and in the internal one)…I was now elated to see that someone liked it so much that they copied it to pass it on to their friends. It was ok with me. So far.
But later that week, as I googled “Pappu can’t code saala”….I was amazed to see 6-7 external blogs that had posted this parody, some posted it as a forward (I was fine with it!!) but 2-3 of them posted it as their creation (now this was not acceptable guys) and the rest just posted it, cos they liked it. On commenting in each blog that posted it, 2-3 of them gave me the credits…2 of them accepted it and said they posted it as a forward, one didn’t respond as well as unapproved my comment and one even asked me for proof that I wrote it. I had not realized that someone would involve in piracy of a parody!!! Phew…
It was indeed an emotional shake cos I was happy at being emulated in one way and very frustrated in another way…

Β 

Episode #2: Girl on the bus

Last weekend as I was going home to Bangalore I boarded the white electronic board wala AC bus in front of my Chennai house. As I looked around for a seat, I managed to find 2 seats one behind the other empty. As you might know, we have a 2+2 arrangement of seats on our buses, the window seats in both the rows were occupied by girls. Given a choice I would have preferred to sit in the front seat…reasons being two…one the seat was closer to the middle exit door…and two, this gal was prettier!! But instead I opted to go and occupy the seat behind, don’t ask me why.
As I went towards that seat, the gal there suddenly kept the bag she had on her lap bang on the till-then empty seat. Now what could I do when destiny preferred to make a choice on my behalf. So I asked the pretty gal in the front row if I could occupy the seat next to her…she replied with a smile. The optimistic in me took it for an approval and I parked myself next to her. πŸ˜›
In my mind, there was this sadness at being shunned by a gal in one case and thrill at being approved by the one I anyways had preferred…an emotional cocktail.

Β 

Episode #3: Promotional pain

Mid year promotion list was out…My classmate (and a good friend) who had joined my company on the same day as mine, had made it to the next level…but I was still at the same (not that I had expected, but when he got it…I wondered why I didn’t)…So there was I, happy for my dear friend…and sad for myself…
The recent promotion list was out…I made it to the next level (I was more than elated, as I didn’t expect due to loads of peer competition in my domain) but both my roommates (who joined same day as me) who had expected remained at the same level….As I went home that evening, I could not be happy for me….not could I be sad for them…
Both the times, the juices in the mind were emotionally cocktailed.

Β 

Episode #4: Those could have been mine…

Well…I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry when this happened. One noon as I sat in my bay playing with the codes, I got a mail from my classmate. Let me refer to her as Q. This was an unusual mail, as the last time that Q had mailed me was over a year ago inviting me to her marriage (which I did attend). The subject line read “Happy News”, so I opened the mail with all curiosity to find that my beloved classmate Q was now a mother of cute little twin daughters. I was excited and immediately replied a “double congratulatory” mail with a pathetic one-liner “one for each of you”. Period.
Two days later, I got a call, close to mid-night. It was from London, another classmate (who is a very good and close friend) of mine. Let me call him X. It was just a casual call which he did now, then and whenever he needed free advice. Anyways…when X was done with his side of talking, he asked me what’s all happening here in India…So I told him about Q becoming a mother of twin gals. What he uttered, drowned me in an emotional cocktail. I did know, but didn’t realise (then) that X was all hearts and mind over Q during our teenage days and had somehow managed to escape from the unbearable pain by escaping to London over a year ago, almost exactly at the time that she got married.
He uttered, “those could have been mine…”, to no one in particular. I felt like laughing my guts out but had to silently giggle, while at the same time I felt like I shared his pain…so unbearable.

Β 

Episode #5: The Human Manager

Over a week ago, I suddenly had an unusual stomach pain right before lunch on a thursday…so I took permission from my manager and left for the day. There was slight fever that night which subsided the next day, but left me weak and with body pain. So around 11am that friday, I dialled my manager’s number to let him know that I would not come in for the day. When I called him and cited the reason, he said “Hey thats ok Sreeram, take care…and do let me know if you need anything at all. I would be glad to help you out. But do take care.”. This coming from a senior person who has about 12-15 years of experience came as a pleasant shocker to me. In pain, I was one happy patient.
It did prepare a different cocktail in mind!! πŸ˜€

Β 

Episode #6: Can’t recognize voice

Now this friend of mine usually calls me on my cell from her cell. Let’s call her Z. I happily pick up and say, “Hellllllllllloooooo Z…blah blah…..”
Since she works in my company, she also calls me sometimes on my cell from the office phone (Vnet). And it so happens that whenever she has calls me from the Vnet…I see the number, pick up and:

Me: “Hello….”
Z: “Helllllllllllllllloooooo”
Me: “hmmm…ya…”
Z (now she being in doubt): “Well can I speak to Sreeram?”
Me: “Sreeram here….hmm….Who’s this?”
Z: “Hey Duffer, again you didn’t recognize my voice…its me…Z speaking”
Me (then as usual): “Hellllllllllloooooo Z…blah blah…..”

She calls me from different Vnets to check if I recognize her voice, but the truth is I don’t recognize her voice even if its the same number. If I had not stored her number under her name in my cell, I doubt recognizing her voice too. It does make me feel “oh not again” each time she says “again you didn’t recognize my voice”, but I feel happy that she being the sweet friend that she is…just doesn’t mind these “born-with” antics of mine. Dunno, how I should react…happy or confused? πŸ˜‰

Β 

Episode #7: Floater Fiasco

The floaters that I happened to use were about 15 months old and yet in very good condition…but I had got bored wearing the same for that long a period. I was also bored with the brand and design. So I was praying that the floaters would somehow get damaged which would provide me with an opportunity to go-get-a-newer-one.
Last Saturday when I reached Bangalore by the early morning train…I was shocked to see my floaters missing. Someone had flicked it from where I had kept it before boarding on to my upper berth the previous night in Chennai. I was sad over someone having stolen it, and more sad when I realised that I have to make it all the way home on naked foot.
On Sunday, I went to buy a new pair of floaters…and in the showroom, happened to see the same pair which I earlier owned and had got bored. Don’t know what happened, I went ahead and bought the same once and over again. On reaching home, my mind had come back to senses. I was sad and frustrated over having bought the same floaters (design and brand-wise) while at the same time, I was happy over getting myself a new pair. I wore it, and jumped up-n-down for quite sometime…my way of mixing the cocktail in my mind!! πŸ˜‰

Β 

Episode #8: Whats-in-a-name?

This friend Z of mine calls me a “Genius” when she’s impressed/happy with me over anything….and then she calls me a “Duffer” when she’s normal. But offlate (latest trend I can call it), she calls me Genius Duffer….totally oxymoronic…Makes me happy and keeps me grounded, both at the same time…I find myself totally in a cocktail!! πŸ˜€

Β 

Episode #9: Face-off

A friend of mine introduced me to her new roommate over lunch sometime last week. Let me call her G. So my friend introduced us as “This is Sreeram…and this is G.”…and over the next 30-40 minutes as we had lunch, we talked on different topics…!!!
On reaching back to my bay, I pinged G over the communicator regarding some matter, only to get a “OMG…you are that blog guy, isn’t it?” reaction.
Now the thing was that during lunch, she had not known that this Sreeram was the same one who blogs and had pinged her….
That left me with a scratchy look on the face….now was I supposed to be Happy or was it the time to go “OMG”….emotional remix altogether!! πŸ˜›

Β 

Episode 10…I guess will happen soon!!! πŸ˜‰

Β 

Update: Up there I was guessing about Episode 10 happening soon…but what didn’t realise was that it had already happened until I read Isd‘s comment (first one) here.Β Thanks to my vacant top floor!! πŸ˜‰ So here I go:

Β 

Episode 10:Β The Dream Seller!!

She was the first stranger who commented on this blog of mine…she was the one who sold dreams…and she responded to me in Hindi…and I was fine with it as I am not challenged when it comes to Hindi…But later as time went by, I got to know that ISD (as I call her) was just learning Hindi (though I found her usage of words flawless) and it was a shock to me when I got to know that she was not an Indian nor had any contacts with India…And how did she learn Hindi? well…by watching SRK movies…I bet I would not be able to learn French or Chinese by watching their movies!! I am happy to find her slowly mastering Hindi, but in awe as to how she must be doing all that!! The mind now whispers “shake those emotions and shout cheers”!! πŸ˜‰

 
17 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2008 in About me, Happens~2~me

 

Tags: , , , , ,

17 responses to “Emotional Cocktails!! ;)

  1. iselldreams

    July 26, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Hey “Genius Duffer”, it was a lot fun to read all these….:D
    i really love the way you render the stuff from your real life,
    mujhe bahut pasand hai….lol
    Episode 10 is ur overseas friend (aka me) can write in hindi but she s never able to make a correct sentence…hehehe
    Btw my fav. is Episode 4…it reminded me of somethng…

     
  2. Dinesh Babu

    July 26, 2008 at 1:47 am

    I had posted the link to your Muthu can’t code saala in the Weekly Indian with credits to you. I hope you didn’t mind that.

     
  3. Sree

    July 26, 2008 at 11:15 am

    @ Isd,

    Haha…you too calling me that eh…but its copywrited by my friend and she may get behind for this…hehe…just kidding! πŸ˜‰
    Wow…that never came to mind…ya the fact that you are not an indian, and speaks authentic (pure) hindi words when compared to me gives me jitters…its definitely at #10…don’t mind…but I will edit the post and add it!! πŸ˜›
    Lol….Episode 4 left me giggling for days….hehe

    Thanks buddy!! πŸ˜€

     
  4. Sree

    July 26, 2008 at 11:17 am

    @ Dinesh,

    Hey no…anything with the right credits is always welcome…being Indians, you know how much we love publicity, and when it comes your way who would mind!!
    Thanks for the credits and thanks a bunch for the link-up…I didn’t know you maintained that blog…its a wonderful gesture on your part..kudos! πŸ˜€

     
  5. iselldreams

    July 26, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    hehehe
    no worries tht nick still belongs to her thts y i quoted it:)
    awww sree now tht brings tear in my eyes…u dedicated the last episode to me…how nice you are and thnx for ur encouraging comments about my learning hindi…at ths point i should state my thnx to my other indian friends as well who were always eager to help me whenever i got stuck:D
    well what can i say this post made my day! πŸ˜€

     
  6. niveditha

    July 26, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    aha
    a brilliant cocktail indeed… genius duffer is the apt word for u! couldn’t have been better… πŸ˜‰
    how do u manage to come up with such different ideas???? amazes me man…
    and boy… u always have some girl or the other in every scene of ur life?? πŸ˜›

     
  7. Jass

    July 26, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    Your life sure is a cocktail πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

     
  8. Pavithra

    July 26, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    @S3,

    WOW!!!! wonderful cocktail mix tht was!!! I liked your Tenth point a lot! A foreigner learning Hindi and speaking it reminds me of Sue in Rang De Basanti indeed!

    @ISD
    KUDOS!!! You shud watch Rang De Basanti if u hadn’t, cos i can relate to you in someway i guess!Keep watching SRK’s flicks too! πŸ™‚

     
  9. Sree

    July 27, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    @ Isd,

    //no worries tht nick still belongs to her thts y i quoted it// Hey no prob…u can use it…I was just pulling your leg!! πŸ˜‰
    //awww sree now tht brings tear in my eyes// so sweet! πŸ˜€
    //at ths point i should state my thnx to my other indian friends as well who were always eager to help me whenever i got stuck // No doubt you have come a long way! πŸ˜€

    @ Nive,

    Nice to know that u liked it…thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€
    //genius duffer is the apt word for u! couldn’t have been better… // Hehe…sahi baat hey…watever u say, seems right sometimes! πŸ˜‰
    //how do u manage to come up with such different ideas???? amazes me man…// Life’s been kind enough for me to experience so many varied instances! πŸ™‚
    //and boy… u always have some girl or the other in every scene of ur life??// You should be happy for your friend! πŸ˜›
    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  10. Sree

    July 27, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    @ Jass,

    Lol…
    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ Pavi,

    //I liked your Tenth point a lot! A foreigner learning Hindi and speaking it reminds me of Sue in Rang De Basanti indeed!// Amazes me all over again…yeah reminds somewhat of the Sue character in RDB! πŸ˜€
    Thanks a lot for liking it buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  11. aparna

    July 28, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Hey,pirated parody,so u did notice it…..i got the same forward from a frend of mine from workin in a different company,after reading your blog..i was shocked..wen i asked her how she got it..there was no reply…..sad.

    \\those could have been mine\\ i dont know if i have any rights to comment on this one..but…eeeooooo he realised it NOW! eeoooo

    And gals,gals and gals all around again haa…hmm….ya ya i know,cant help noticing it just like you cant help writing abt them. πŸ™‚

    The episode 10 title ..man u shocked me there again with it…remember i told u tht ur blog resembles one of the blogs tht i used to follow regularly….this tiltle is just similar to tht…..i am just wondering how this ame to ur mind…this is now the height of coincidence.I cant believe this….may be you moight have read it(tht blog) or mayb not……anyhow i wont say wat tht blog’s name is…coz i dont want to endorse it…i dont like it anymore….i hate tht blog and its author..

     
  12. Sujatha

    July 28, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Man!!!!!!

    You sure are an epitome of patience when it comes to writing a loooooooong post like this:lol:

    That sure was some cocktail buddy!!!
    ROFL at episode #4!!

    And “genius duffer” does suit you well:)

     
  13. Revs

    July 28, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Whoaaaaa!! long long post. but i enjoyed reading each and every line!! Mazaa aa gaya!!Very nonchalant and effortless piece of writing!! πŸ™‚
    cocktail is the right word!!

     
  14. Sree

    July 28, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    @ Aparna,
    So you too got that forward eh? I guess everyone got it…I got one that originated from Infy into TCS and then into my mailbox…amazing na? πŸ˜›
    //And gals,gals and gals all around again haa…hmm….ya ya i know,cant help noticing it just like you cant help writing abt them.// Hehe…what to do…destiny I guess…one look at the comment section and you’ll say the same all over all…need no better proof na? πŸ˜‰
    Ah…again the co-incidence strikes eh? Cant believe that Shaitaan ki naani hates someone that much…hmmm…happens…
    Thanks buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  15. Sree

    July 28, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    @ Suj,

    I didn’t realize that it went so long…else would have taken some breath and posted it in two separate posts…just didnt strike till I posted!! πŸ˜€
    Thanks buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ Revs,

    Hehe…aaawww…cute comment…intellects ko pasand aaya toh, that means its certainly hit the right spot! πŸ˜‰
    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
