RSS

Of Kite-Runner, Evam, Choco-Truffle and Bessie-Beach!! ;)

16 Aug

Yipppppppeeeeeeeee……yesterday evening I finished reading Khaled Hosseini’s ‘Kite Runner’…If you ask me as to why I am happy and excited?? Well…the book was gifted to me by a dear friend for my birthday in April…so May, June, July and now August…it’s taken me 4 good months to finish off this book!! Now tell me how can I not be happy? πŸ˜›
Not that I had not found time to sit and read…but there have been distractions lately that have taken a higher priority than reading…gone are those days when I used to skip my goodnight sleep, breakfast, lunch, afternoon nap, snacks and dinner in order to complete the book in hand (yes you are right, amΒ damn slow at reading)…blame the internet and the close proximity to the Bessie Beach!! πŸ˜‰

Yipppppppeeeeeeeee……I completed watching the movie ‘Kite Runner’ this early morning. I had downloaded a rip of the movie more than a month ago, but had waited to complete the book before I watched the movie. I actually began watching the movie just after finishing the book yesterday, but then my roomy made me an offer I couldn’t refuse…Bessie Beach!! πŸ˜› And then I was tired by the time I got back…but chatted sensibly about all nonsensical things with a friend of mine in the US before she reminded me that it was quite late back home in India…I didn’t realize that it was already past 12, so said an alvida to her and then slept off!! But the fact that I had left the movie incomplete was playing somewhere in the mind I guess…believe it or not (this am saying to myself), I got up at 5 30 this morning and completed the movie before going back to sleep at 6 45am!! πŸ˜€
I next opened my eyes around 11am when a friend woke me up by callingΒ on my cellΒ and she yelled at me for forgetting to pay her internet bill…she reminded that today was the last day to do that…my bill had to be paid too…I stood in the wrong queue for about 45 minutes before I got to know that it was a cash payment queue…now who has cash? (Not me…my answer)…then I stood another 20 mins in the card payment line…sigh!

Yipppppppeeeeeeeee……this noon I had been to a theatre play by a group called Evam…they brought to life a play called “Odd Couple”…I went alone…but met 3 colleagues over there and we had a good time at the play!! πŸ™‚Β 
Though originally written by Neil Simon, the 8 characters on stage bring it to life…full of emotions, ups and downs…It was all about 2 friends Oscar and Felix whoΒ are the odd couple that share an apartment and thats it…they had absolutely nothing else in common…its about how they deal with their lives, how they comfort each other in their own ways, how their friends react meanwhile, how this and how that…It was simply awesome, in places…and brilliant, otherwise…and in Karthik’s (the lead actor who played Oscar)Β words, “If you missed it, you just missed it!”! πŸ˜‰

Yipppppppeeeeeeeee……I was longing to have the chocolate pastries from the nearest cake shop in Adyar called Cake World since quite some time…had no company each time…but today I gave an ultimatum to my roomies to accompany me…though they didn’t eat (I can’t believe they said no…shame shame guys), I had my fill on Chocolate Truffle…yummmmmy….and ya, theΒ speech on calories have been postponed to tomorrow!! πŸ˜‰

Yipppppppeeeeeeeee……my roomy just asked the inevitable question “Bessie Beach now…what say?”…its always cool and fun to go there late this night…chalo…till next time, signing off! πŸ™‚

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2008 in About me, Happens~2~me, I~do~such~things

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Of Kite-Runner, Evam, Choco-Truffle and Bessie-Beach!! ;)

  1. Rick Boyer

    August 16, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Hello. I was reading someone elses blog and saw you on their blogroll. Would you be interested in exchanging blog roll links? If so, feel free to email me.

    Thanks.

     
  2. iselldreams

    August 16, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    ahan….
    i both read the book and watched the movie in three days and he became one of my fav. writers….i can suggest thoudand of splendid suns by the same writer if u havent read it yet…it s as striking as the kite runner…
    btw i m too angry with you …..where is my choclate truffle share!!!!!!

     
  3. Sree

    August 16, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    @ Isd,

    I knew someone or the other would come up with an angry question over the truffle…and what do I see, its right in the first comment!! πŸ˜› Can’t send the share, so hmm…when u come to India! πŸ˜€

    Ya I do have that book, A thousand spendid suns…borrowed from a friend a month ago!! πŸ˜› Will start next!! πŸ˜‰ Waiting to be ‘striked’ again! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  4. Sree

    August 16, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Thanks a lot Rick, definitely would be interested. Thanks! πŸ™‚

     
  5. jayanthi

    August 17, 2008 at 9:11 am

    ah ha..finally u finished the book and the movie…you should never leave a movie half way..it haunts you in your sleep(i have so many to complete) πŸ˜›
    beach during night….ultimate…yaar…!!
    akele akele chocolate truffle….tere roomies pagal hai..how can they resist the devil…hmm next time company ke liye fly to mumbai πŸ˜›
    aur calories ke liye …dont worry it gets burned in the jogging you do daily [;p]

     
  6. niveditha

    August 17, 2008 at 11:31 am

    first things first..
    akele chocolate truffle????? 😑
    din remember someone 5 kms away???? πŸ‘Ώ
    and how the hell did u roomies have the heart to refuse chocolate truffle????? 😯
    and.. my my.. u finally did get to finish that book eh???
    and bachu..u were supposed to give me that kite runner dvd a looooooooooooooong time back…..
    remember??? πŸ™‚

     
  7. Sree

    August 17, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    @ AB,

    Ya seriously…it does haunt…a thousand times over!! πŸ˜‰
    Sahi mein woh log paagal hey…I didnt believe my ears when I heard them say no…I asked again, this time they said no again shaking their heads left-right…and I didn’t want to digest that as I had the truffle waiting to be feasted upon and digested!! πŸ˜›
    Ye main kya sunn raha hoon?? You mean to say, you are coming back to India?? Wow AB Wow….kab?? when?? πŸ˜€
    Ya ya…jogging…that calls for another post!! πŸ˜†

    Thanks a lot buddy!! πŸ˜€

    @ Nive,

    5 kms yes…but it was late in evening na for you to come…but I thought of you, if thats a consolation!! πŸ˜›
    How the hell they refused…well…they are direct imports from Mars!! πŸ˜€
    Ya finally done with the book and the movie…hehe…and ya remind me the next time u plan to meet me, will handover the DVD!! Don’t wait for it to release in India, the tunnel is still dark…!! πŸ˜‰
    Tashakor buddy jan!! πŸ˜€

     
  8. niveditha

    August 17, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    //but I thought of you, if thats a consolation!!
    hai hai.. wat a consolation… i am gonna demand double amount of chocolate truffle as treat from u the next time i get a chance to see ya. πŸ˜‰

    //Don’t wait for it to release in India, the tunnel is still dark…!!
    i doubt it will… so u r sure gonna hear me pestering u to give it to me!!! πŸ˜›

     
  9. Sree

    August 17, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    @ Nive,

    Haan haan…zaroor!! πŸ˜›
    zaroor was for both!! πŸ˜‰

     
  10. Revs

    August 18, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Yipeeeeeeeeee!! Even i have done all the things which u have done over this weekend

    1. kite runner – awesome
    2. movie – ok, does no justice to the movie
    3. odd couple – bloody brilliant!! no other words would suffice!! πŸ™‚
    4.adyar cake world pastries- mmmmmm, attaining nirvana!!
    5 yeah!! been there done that!! πŸ˜‰

    Nice post!! πŸ™‚

     
  11. Megs

    August 18, 2008 at 11:22 am

    maaaannnnn….im dyin to get my hands on the BOOK
    i ve seen the DVD of the movie at teh nearest Library
    but im dyin to read the book first before i pick up that DVD πŸ˜›

    bessie beach………..bless me…….its jus a diff world altogether
    except that i don get to go as often as u guys 😦
    since u ppl stay so close….grrr…………. 😑

    plays……….grrrrrrrrrrrr 😑
    i hardly get to go anywhere near those
    infact i used to attend Carnatic music concerts more in Mumbai than i have in Chennai 😦

    Chocolate truffle………. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……….. πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    your makin me hungry inspite of my brfst 😦

     
  12. Sree

    August 18, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    @ Revs,

    Wow…seems like our lives are going on the same, as we enjoy or the other crappy part!! πŸ˜›
    I agree with the bloody brilliant part…I knew that I couldn’t make justice by writing a review on that, so just a mention!! πŸ˜‰
    Ya…I attained Nirvana!! πŸ˜›

    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ Megs,

    Waise, I can lend you that book…anytime! πŸ˜€
    Hehe…hungry after breakfast, but I guess you do have a sensible appetite to hold a truffle after breakfast too! Am I rightcha?? πŸ˜›
    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  13. aparna

    August 19, 2008 at 11:59 am

    wah kya time table hai…u took 4 months to read the book…how many pages was it?..i wonder how many days it’ll take u to finish Fountainhead..phew..

     
  14. Sree

    August 20, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    @ Aparna,

    Haha…I know!! πŸ˜›
    May be around 350 pages…I dunno…if I count pages, I cant read, its a fear factor!! πŸ˜‰
    Fountainhead by Ayn Rand…god…she’s heavy (in terms of writing)…will I complete, is the question!! πŸ˜†
    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  15. diltCoadard

    December 27, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Hi your website is cool
    I have a new band and we just had a live gig you can see here:
    http://tinyurl.com/8w2esc

     

Leave a Reply

 
