RSS

Sathyam Cinemas…Of pain and pleasure!!

29 Aug

Now who doesn’t know Sathyam Cinemas? If you are a Chennaiite or even if you have visited Chennai once so far in your lifetime, you would no doubt have heard and definitely have watched a movie or two over there. Sathyam Cinemas in Chennai is the most happening Movie complex in Chennai, closely followed by Inox Movies and Mayajaal. I have no idea if there are any other movie complexes in this lovelyΒ south Indian city that celebrated its birthday (368th is it?? I think so!! πŸ™‚ ) just this week that went by.

Now I have no complaints about the way movies are screened at Sathyam Cinemas…nor am I gonna bang my head concerning over the rocket high prices of popcorns (they are good, and ask for some ‘extra butter’ to be added…yummmy deliciiouusss!! πŸ˜› ) sold over the counters there.

But the concerns that I have is again (like last time)Β related to booking and this time its regarding the online booking portal. Earlier the payment gate was well within the Sathyam portal, but of recent they have started directing the payment through some secure channel…I have especially had terrible experiences the last 2 times that I have bought my tickets online. As I log in, select the movie of my choice, choose the seating location, reject the food-at-my-seat option…it leads me to the 3rd party secure payment gate and thats when all the problems have been. The last time I booked 2 tickets for 200 bucks, the seats were booked and monetary transaction was successful (as it got debited on my credit card statement) but it failed to take me back to the Sathyam Cinemas portal and hence I ended up without the booking-number…which is essential to collect tickets later…nor did it appear in my ticket booking history column on the portal…The same thing happened when I booked the tickets for 4 – 320 bucks – the time before.Β  😦

Asked the bank guys, they said that the money has been credited to Sathyam and Sathyam guys say that I have not booked any tickets as my booking is not reflected in their portal…What can I do, but Sigh! 😦

I don’t know if any of you have faced this problem…but this has made me not to use the Sathyam portal, and as a result watching movies on big screen at Sathyams has stopped since 2 weeks now…am missing it, no doubt…booking tickets is tough as I stay at a distance and mainly the timings don’t suit for me to rush in for a newly released movie…

So I’ve headed to Inox Movies and Mayajaal to watch movies of recent…but its not the same…Inox is a small place…and it being on the top floor of the Citi Center Mall, does not have that appeal of a complete movie complex…while Mayajaal being on the ECR (East Coast Road) is way too out of the city and travelling late nights is a pain with the cops and cons treating you alike if caught!! Moreover, I miss the Sathyam popcorns at these two complexes…hmmm…

Hope the Sathyam guys do something about this…esle I have no other go, but to watch movies at INOX and Mayajaal. Not that good an idea, if you ask me even in sleep.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2008 in Happens~2~me, Movies

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Sathyam Cinemas…Of pain and pleasure!!

  1. aparna

    August 29, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    hmm….paise bhi bhar diye aur kaam bhi nahi hua…..aur agar cousin ko party dene ki baath aati hai toh itnaa rotey hai…. πŸ˜›

     
  2. niveditha

    August 30, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    he he he… another rant about sathyam eh???
    hmmm.. bad luck.. kabhi kabhi hota hai re… πŸ™‚
    chill dude..

     
  3. Sree

    August 30, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    @ Aparna,

    hehe…arre woh toh aise hi usko tang karne ke liye!! πŸ˜›
    Ye toh bina pooche churaaya hua case hey!!

    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ Nive,

    Bad luck?? mere saath hi kyun….aur do do baar kyun?? 😦
    am chill waise πŸ˜€

    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  4. iselldreams

    August 31, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    awwww
    bechara…..
    πŸ˜€

     
  5. Sree

    September 1, 2008 at 11:48 am

    @ Isd,

    Hmmm…haan..hehe…
    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  6. Revs

    September 2, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Awwwwwww
    That is sad man!! jeeez. u can sue them for this!! but you being you i guess you wont do it!! πŸ˜›

     
  7. bluediamond

    September 2, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    well.. inox is not that bad to manage with…. btw which movie was it.. no mention of it???! πŸ˜‰

     
  8. Sree

    September 4, 2008 at 12:35 am

    @ Revs,

    Hehe…no no…like forgiveness is the key to happiness, so is putting it down in a post!!! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ AKB,

    This was for Dark Knight…first time I went to buy the tickets standing in the Sathyam Queue!!
    Thanks buddy! πŸ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
