RSS

[Pic-Blog]~ Bekal Fort, Kerala! :)

01 Sep

Long ago, but not so long ago (actually I did try to remember…) I had been to Bekal, a very small town in the North-Western part of Kerala. Bekal, being the birth-place of my dad…is one of the mandatory trips that my family actively takes part in…and why not, we are excited each time we visit as we love going to the fort and the vast expansive beaches over there… 😀

If anyone of you have been there, you would agree with me…but I bet you would have seen this place if you have watched the Aravind Swamy-Manisha Koirala starrer “Bombay”! :mrgreen:

I will be sharing a few pics I took the last time I had been there!! 🙂

The fort has now come under the Kerala Tourism Department, and is being revived from its ruins…such a pleasant thing to see!! This is a top view of the fort (I had climbed the tallest construction inside the fort to capture this :P) with the Arabian sea in the background! 😀

This is the very stretch where Manisha Koirala runs towards Aravind Swamy as he sings the song “Uyire” in Tamil and for the benefit of others “Tu Hi Re” in Hindi…and man, she runs both the times!! Anything is fair in love (and war)!! 😉 Btw, I have tried singing the same song over there, and don’t believe me, but I have seen many run!! :mrgreen:

The beautiful sea and the unending horizon…

I had waited for quite a while to click a pic when the waves would hit the rocks…Murphy waited all along with me to see that it didn’t happen…I love you buddy, on the rocks! 😀

All you can see below is the sea waves kissing the rocks near the shores…and a few bushes!! But even in that hot noon, the bushes were not left alone!! 😉

Ah! The cocunut trees…how can one miss them in God’s own country?? Lovely sight!! 😉

This spot below (in the ring) is my favourite…When the tides are high, the water splashes all over us if we stand in that ring….amazing feeling!! 🙂

If you haven’t been there, do plan sometime…its simply an awesome place! 🙂

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2008 in Pics

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “[Pic-Blog]~ Bekal Fort, Kerala! :)

  1. Pavithra

    September 1, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Wow! Wonderful one buddy! Simply fell in luv with the place and the pictures are awesome! Great post!!! 🙂

     
  2. Sree

    September 1, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    @ Pavi,

    Do visit it sometime! 🙂
    Thanks a lot buddy! 😀

     
  3. niveditha

    September 1, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    beautiful pics..
    now ur making me jealous.. i too want to go there.. seen a lot of places in kerala.. but not this…. 😳

     
  4. iselldreams

    September 1, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    great views….i loved it but visitng is just a dream for me:S
    oh so ur voice is really ad while singing, is it?
    😀

     
  5. aparna

    September 2, 2008 at 9:17 am

    \\If you haven’t been there, do plan sometime…\\sponsor my tickets naa…i will visit it :)..also if possibl eek guide bhi rakhdenaa mere liye..

     
  6. Revs

    September 2, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Breathtaking man!!
    absolutely lovely!!! 🙂
    lovely pics!!
    wah wah!! even i wanna go somewhere!! 😦

     
  7. Sree

    September 4, 2008 at 12:38 am

    @ Isd,

    You never know…someday!! 😀
    And who said my voice is bad?? 😛 I didn’t say that ppl were running away…they could have come running towards me too na? 😆

    Thanks a lot buddy! 😀

    @ Aparna,

    Sponsor eh? I know you are kidding!! 😛
    I will guide you…if you sponsor the guide!! 😆

    Thanks a lot buddy! 😀

    @ Revs,

    Pls do visit it sometime! Thanks buddy! 😀

     
    • zabi

      October 16, 2010 at 12:51 pm

      i am reching in next month to manglore & kasrgod next to goa bye tour visiting plz guide me & seand me imagess of kerla turisim plz reply

       
      • Sree

        October 20, 2010 at 5:34 pm

        Zabi, Bekal is very close to Kasargod…about 15-20 mins drive if am not wrong.
        Search in google for guides and maps! 🙂

         
  8. shammaz

    September 10, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    It will have improve

     
  9. Lokesh Kumar

    April 15, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Good pics. Kasorgod district consists of lot many things apart from bekal fort & beach. Ranipuram hillstation….a good spot for trekking lovers, Overnight cruise(boat house)…..not exactly remembered the place name, it will be nearly 10KM south to Kanhangad & famous mathur ganapathi temple in Kasorgod. Dont miss next time. You can find some good snaps and more info
    http://lmakani.blogspot.com/2009/12/start-chennai-destination-kanhangad.html

     
  10. Sree

    April 17, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Thanks Lokesh! 🙂

     
  11. seher siddiqa

    March 15, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    I love the bekal fort. I really havn’t seen that kind of peace place…I really enjoyed my best moments their with my family…
    8th wonder of world in making peace and happiness with waves, environment,structure etc….

     
  12. Sree

    April 18, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Thanks Seher 🙂

     
  13. Tipusultan

    March 20, 2013 at 10:43 am

    Me and my friends trek in Maharashtra lot of forts,
    once i will visit to kerala.

     

Leave a Reply

 
