RSS

Kung-fu in Kitchen!! ;)

06 Sep

I was free and at home the whole of today and so was Satish, my roommate. Two of the other roommates were out, Samik reporting to his boss at office and the dutiful husband in Udit reporting to his wife who stays at his native with his parents. Due to the recent inflation and removal of subsidy at lunch in the office, all four of us had decided to cook at home for dinner on weekdays and all times on weekends.

Its been 2 whole weeks now since the new arrangement and each one of us have voluntarily taken up certain responsibilities.

Samik cooks well…so he’s the official cook of the house now…
Udit is good at deciding what to be cooked and the combinations….believe me, its a tough job to decide whats to be done for that moment. And above that he does the weekly shopping too with Samik.
Satish is the laziest and uninterested among the lot…he can basically survive on chips, finger fries, et al. However we engage him in work that requires him to move less like cleaning of rice, cleaning the dining area (once he sits there), opening of packets (his fav.) etc…
And me, I love to see the vessels clean…so I do all the dish washing!! I am the scavenger of the pack!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Apart from this, I do the small shopping thats needed on a daily basis like getting milk, curds, eggs, and so on.

And today since our cook was at office, and the lazy fella was lying down and watching TV…the onus of preparing food fell on my irresponsible (cooking) shoulders!! Since we get up late, I knew that breakfast was taken care of…err skipped!! ๐Ÿ˜€
At 11am I went to the shopping mall to get small things and ending up getting ready-to-eat Dosa batter and Aloo Tikki (a potato based snack)!! ๐Ÿ˜€
On reaching home, we decided that we would have dosa for brunch (breakfast+lunch) as it was already 12 noon….I was skeptical cos I didnt remember the last time I had entered the kitchen with the task of having to prepare something…If it was just for me, I wouldn’t have bothered but there was that lazy food critic sitting outside waiting with an empty plate in his hand. And to beat it all, there were not much instructions on the packet that I bought…It just said, ready to eat….hmm…
I poured the batter into a clean (I washed it :P) bowl and mixed the paste using a clean large spoon. Since it looked thick, I even added water (and a little salt) before mixing it again. Meanwhile set the gas on fire, with a few drops of oil on the non-stick pan. Now was the most dreadful task in the waiting…It reminded me of a few one-liners I got to hear before I took over the kitchen…

“Hope your dosa will come out round, just like dosas are meant to be”
“I can’t recognize a dosa by taste…but only by shape”
“Which country do you design best on a non-stick pan?”
All these echoed in mind as I let the batter into the pan…the round shape of the pan, was a blessing in disguise. ๐Ÿ˜›

The first dosa came out like how Srilanka is…but I remembered my mom saying “sometimes the first ones act weird”! So I put it on a plate, meant for me…
The second was even worse…went to the dustbin…
And then there was some magic…I am saying so cos I didnt do anything…
The 3rd, 4th and 5th dosas…came out right and round…just like the bug sitting outside wanted and I happily dropped those into his plates….he said he wanted no more as he was full….what could be expected with the packet of chips he had side by side…sigh!
Then the magic disappeared just like it had appeared…
The remaining dosas took shapes which I cannot describe…but I wasnt bothered as far as the batter was cooked…I recognize by taste after-all!! ๐Ÿ˜€
The magic was more of a fate I think…else why would it stop when it was my turn?!! :mrgreen:

Evening it was time for Aloo Tikki…I was excited…and there were instructions on the backside of the packet too…And I prepared as written on it…and it came out brown crispy delicious as it was printed on the packet…But the bug of a Satish had to comment….he didn’t like it….and he said it with a “I don’t like these kind of snacks”…If you see in the flashback, I had taken neat 10 minutes to explain him that Aloo tikki is a chaat snack…but sigh, his mind didnt pick it up I guess…lazy it must be too!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But the best part was that I got to eat his share too….damn the check on calorie count for the day…I promise to climb more stairs (and hereby go for more coffee breaks in office) to compensate!! ๐Ÿ˜€

And when it was dinner time….I was so relieved to find Samik back from office….that I started writing this post…he’s calling now to have my dinner…I have to wash dishes too later….So till next time, signing off!! ๐Ÿ˜€

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2008 in About me, I~do~such~things

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Kung-fu in Kitchen!! ;)

  1. Jass

    September 7, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Yinteresting! Waah Waah! Cook [If you can call heating ready to eat stuff cooking that is :P] ban gaye ho s3 ! I am itching to try my hands at cooking , but we dont have the cooking equipment [as in gas , stove, vessels , etc] , plus the roomies are lazier than me and well they are very much apprehensive of my cooking standards!! ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  2. Arun

    September 7, 2008 at 12:48 am

    hehe ! ah yes the dosa disasters ! been there done that ๐Ÿ˜‰ same for chappatis !
    hilarious, chef S3 !

     
  3. Sree

    September 7, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    @ Jass,

    Arre..there’s lots to do with ready-to-eats…curries i agree is just boiling but that damn aloo tikki cannot be eaten just like that…takda-vodka lagana padtha hey! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Initially even we didnt have…but we then moved into a house that had all those things!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I can match your cooking standards…wannacome?? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Thanks a lot buddy! ๐Ÿ˜€

    @ Arun,

    Haha…dosa was close to a disaster…and u know what I just created designs out of wheat flour (roommate was pleased with those chappatis) for lunch now!! ๐Ÿ˜›
    Thanks a lot matey! ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  4. niveditha

    September 7, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    he he he..
    so sir has started cooking also..
    my my.. quite a ladies man u r… ๐Ÿ˜‰
    and aloo tikki?? mujhe invite karne ka mann nahin aaya kya tujhe? ๐Ÿ‘ฟ

     
  5. aparna

    September 8, 2008 at 9:31 am

    ha ha i just lov ewatching men doing some kitchen work :p, didnt get a chance til now ๐Ÿ™‚
    \\I poured the batter into a clean (I washed it \\ eee u washed it, i can imagine how it would have smelled and looked ….

     
  6. .:rV:.

    September 8, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Heh heh.. cooking huh.. we’re braver than u.. we did venture into the dosa mix and the ready to eat dals etc field.. finally being the smart ones we resigned to Maggi.. ๐Ÿ˜›
    get smarter.. ๐Ÿ˜›

     
  7. Revs

    September 8, 2008 at 9:37 am

    oooooooooh!!! dosa a la carte eh?? ๐Ÿ˜›
    nice post Sree. loved the pice of life feel a lot!!
    Lage Raho!!
    soch ke dekh. apne matrimonial ad mein u can put “can cook clean and make fairly round dosas”!! ๐Ÿ˜›

     
  8. GoodEarth

    September 8, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Ha ha haaaa…. interesting read Sree! Please invite me to ur home next time u ppl start ur cooking experiments…. nooooo not to eat! To watch & have a good laugh ๐Ÿ˜€
    loved the title of the post too ๐Ÿ™‚

    and hey… it cannot be “ready to eat batter”! how can u eat batter?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ it must be “Ready to cook batter”… i use it everyday ๐Ÿ™‚ and that Aloo Tikki thing doesnt taste as good as it appears in the picture on the cover…. and hell lot of calories too!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice post man! would make a lively series too ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  9. AKB

    September 8, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    good good… maybe thats what our company wanted too.. passion for making a difference in every way??? ๐Ÿ˜› socho ki agar the subsidy was not removed, what would have happened n all… ๐Ÿ˜‰

     
  10. iselldreams

    September 9, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    lol…
    i dnt know wht to feel after reading this post
    you explained the cooking procedure as a bolywood drama
    i felt as if SRK wll jump out of somewhere in the kitchen just like kal ho na ho…
    btw i hate washing the dishes, may be u can help me with tht too? hmm???

     
  11. Sree

    September 10, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    @ Nive,

    //so sir has started cooking also..// hmm…I used to earlier too…but this time its after a long while…
    //my my.. quite a ladies man u rโ€ฆ // Ahem…ya! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    //and aloo tikki?? mujhe invite karne ka mann nahin aaya kya tujhe// Invitation ki zaroorat hey?? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Thanks buddy! ๐Ÿ˜€

    @ Aparna,

    //ha ha i just lov ewatching men doing some kitchen work :p, didnt get a chance til now// Make your hubby do some kung fu!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    //eee u washed it, i can imagine how it would have smelled and looked// Like never before! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Thanks buddy! ๐Ÿ˜€

    @ RV,

    //weโ€™re braver than u.. we did venture into the dosa mix and the ready to eat dals etc field.. finally being the smart ones we resigned to Maggi..// Smart!! ๐Ÿ˜›
    //get smarter.. // ofcourse…you are a motivation!! ๐Ÿ˜›
    idiot! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks buddy! ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  12. Sree

    September 10, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    @ Sow,

    //Please invite me to ur home next time u ppl start ur cooking experimentsโ€ฆ. nooooo not to eat! To watch & have a good laugh// how mean patient…but we serve our guests well…not just allow them to watch, we even feed them with our “clean” hands!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    //loved the title of the post too// hehe…my pleasure…thank you, no mention!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    //and heyโ€ฆ it cannot be โ€œready to eat batterโ€! how can u eat batter?? it must be โ€œReady to cook batterโ€// hello…it was written “ready to eat”!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    //i use it everyday// lazy lady!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    // and that Aloo Tikki thing doesnt taste as good as it appears in the picture on the coverโ€ฆ. and hell lot of calories too!!// I know…it tasted like hell…but it would be good if you add some of your own ingredients before frying it! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    //would make a lively series too// ofcourse…if you could taste each time i prepare!! :mrgreen:

    Thanks a lot buddy! ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  13. Sree

    September 10, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    @ AKB,

    //good goodโ€ฆ maybe thats what our company wanted too..//hehe…they wanted to turn geeks into cooks eh?? ๐Ÿ˜›
    //passion for making a difference in every way??? // ya ya… //socho ki agar the subsidy was not removed, what would have happened n allโ€ฆ// nothing would have happened I guess…we would still be eating out!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Thanks a lot buddy! ๐Ÿ˜€

    @ Isd,

    //i dnt know wht to feel after reading this post// tell me if you feel like eating my preparations!! ๐Ÿ˜›
    //you explained the cooking procedure as a bolywood drama
    i felt as if SRK wll jump out of somewhere in the kitchen just like kal ho na hoโ€ฆ// wah…so you mean to say, am like SRK here?? ๐Ÿ˜›
    //btw i hate washing the dishes, may be u can help me with tht too? hmm???// Can I consider this a job offer.?? am looking for an industry change actually!! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Thanks a lot buddy! ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  14. iselldreams

    September 11, 2008 at 10:27 am

    well i just i magined you as in SRK role just like he was in Kal Ho Na Ho..cooking and washing with Jaya Bachan in the kitchen remember?? in tht sense yea u r like him…ahahaha

    oh yes ths is a job offer lekin we wnt make any payment to you for now, trial period is like a year, can u work free of charge during a year?:D

     
  15. Sree

    September 21, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Haha…in some sense am like him na, thats more than enough!! ๐Ÿ˜›
    trial period of a yr??? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ OMG…you are a brutal employer Isd…hehe

     

Leave a Reply

 
