RSS

A week that wasn’t…

21 Sep

One week I went away on a break and it seems like things went all wrong all over…I didn’t expect the world to be a different place altogether.

Last Saturday evening, I left for Mumbai on a week long vacation not for any occasion/function but just to get in touch again with an old habit of visiting my cousins there. Till about the time I joined work, I used to visit Mumbai every year without fail. But in the last 32 months this was just my second visit, the last time being a short visit of 2 days to attend my cousin’s marriage. So this time I decided to take a week off and along with my sister visited the city that never sleeps, Mumbai.

But hardly did I foresee that the world would be a different place in a week’s time. On landing in Mumbai on saturday night, we were welcomed with the news of serial bomb blasts in the capital of India, New Delhi. On reaching home, this was the topic of discussion among us all…my aunt (mom’s sis), uncle, uncle’s dad and me. Little did we know then that much more was in store for us the next day.

On Sunday morning, I got up early at 9 am to the news of an email alert that had been sent from one “Eric House” in Chembur (and my aunt’s place was just that!!!) and to our astonishment, the person (Mr. M. N. Kamath) whose insecured Wi-Fi network was used to send that email was none other than my uncle’s dad’s cousin.Β  What came to my mind suddenly was the open insecured Wi-Fi network that I had at my Adyar flat. We have it switched on almost 24/7. Phew! The whole of Sunday was an ordeal for the entire Kamath family and my Uncle’s dad with the cops. I had been to the area where Eric House was, but was not allowed near, and it was also decidiously covered with cops and reporters, police jeeps and OB vans. I was back at home in no time right in front of the idiot box to follow up on that.

Meanwhile on the other side, a ship with 18 Indian crew members was hijacked in Somalia…and their demands, phew….nearly 7 crores INR…I was kidding with my cousin, saying that it must again be one of us only (a Konkani speaking bloke) since 7 is considered lucky by us…for some GOD damn reason!! πŸ˜€ What to say, the pirates are weird psychos!!!

In the evening, took part in a Ganapati Visarjan procession too but sadly could not get pics as no photography was allowed due to security reasons. Surprisingly I was asked not to click pics in both the shopping malls I visited…and I didn’t feel like going to any other mall after that. And the famous Mumbai rains showered its blessings on me and by the time I got home, I was all drenched. And the nut in me loved it!! :mrgreen:

Monday morning we left Mumbai for Pune…to visit my aunt (dad’s sis) and cousins…and I utilized this opportunity to meet a few of our beloved Ch1 Pune Bloggers (a photo-blog on this one will follow soon! :)). It was a great feeling to meet them all in person, after having known them for over a year just by their blogs and names. In the excitement of meeting them all, I even forgot that I was on an anti-biotics (which were battling with the virus within me) course…period. Weather in Pune was pleasant…with periodic drizzles but the night was very cold.

By Tuesday evening, we were back in Mumbai welcomed by the pouring rains only to reach home all drenched. It was the last thing I wanted to happen on a vacation, to fall ill. And this rain was just the right doze that I needed to hit the sick bed. Wednesday went off “silently” trying to persuade the virus to let go of me…I must say, it was lenient enough not to sap into my energy levels. There was no fever, but there was no voice coming out of my vocal chord too…I learnt the sign language to an extent on that day…the same day that Lehmann Brothers declared bankruptcy leading to the downfall of the markets, including our ever-ready-to-fall Sensex (the Indian stock exchange)!!

Almost the entire Bangladesh Cricket team decided to join ICL, the (so called – by BCCI) rebel Cricket league. Inspite of having resigned from his Bangladesh Contract, Habibul Bashar was foolish enough to quote that he expected to play for the Bangladesh National team irrespective of having signed the ICL contracts for a staggering $200,000 per year for the next 3 years. Sadly two evenings later, he seemed to be shocked at Bangladesh Cricket board’s decision to present him (and other ICL joinees) with a 10 yr ban.

Thursday, there was no rain and inside me, no pain. It was time for some shopping as well as for some relative-visits. We were 6 hours on the roads of Mumbai (Crawford Market, Linking Road, Santacruz, Andheri, etc) and 2 hours at 2 houses…to come back home late in the evening all happy, tired and dead.

Friday looked happy and beautiful with the light drizzles till about mid-day when the news of an encounter in Delhi rattled all peace. 30 minutes of firing…2 militants dead, one caught and 2 escaped…2 policemen severely injured, of which the constable survived and the inspector sucummbed to injuries on Saturday. The people in Jamia Nagar where the encounter and firing happened blamed the police saying the encounter was fake…but if it was fake, why would any police inspector give up his life?? And in fake encounters, no AK-47s are recovered from “students”. The people also had complaints as to why the police chose close to prayer time on Jumma – a Friday – in the Ramazan period to carry out the encounter. Did they forget that the blasts took place in the holy period of Ramzan??? Hats off to those ppl…Idiots!!!

Saturday as I landed at home in Bangalore, I was relieved that nothing much had happened this day….only to be made aware of the twin bomb blasts at Islamabad in Pakistan which killed and injured several innocent people including quite a number of foreign nationals…Sigh!!

On reaching home at Chennai, I got to do something about the Wi-Fi security…the last thing I would want is to be caught for some wrong and unsuspected thing!! Though I wouldnt mind the appearing-on-the-television jig…good or bad, publicityΒ always helps!! πŸ˜‰Β 

From last Saturday to this one, from the Delhi blasts to the Islamabad one, from being in Mumbai to being back at home…it has been one long sad sick week…a week that wasn’t weak, but full of energy. Hmm…

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2008 in Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “A week that wasn’t…

  1. niveditha

    September 21, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    quite eventful…. on the same side non eventful trip eh???
    come up with photos re…

    aur yeh kya.. this post is longer than ur usual ones… πŸ™‚

     
  2. iselldreams

    September 21, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    ummm i didnt hear about the blast in india but i was shocked with the one in islamabad last night…its too sad to hear about the death of manny innocent people….
    so you were sick as well, i was sick in bed also for the last 3 days again but m better today…what about u, hope u r feeling totally good now….
    and eventful week to cope with…wah g wah…

     
  3. Sree

    September 21, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    @ Nive,

    Week was eventful and it was not as eventful as I expected it to be on the personal front!! πŸ˜€
    Pics…yeah…very soon…am very lazy to upload it here one by one…hehe
    This one is longer?? I think its the frustration of not being able to write for one long week!! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ Isd,

    The blast in India never gets out in public…ppl die here in silence…the noise is loud only when you drop something on your own feet!! Its all political bull shit!! Its only the families of those who have lost their loved ones that suffer the most…the country and their governments dont matter at all!! πŸ™‚
    What happened to you?? kya hua?? too much of movies and blogging kya??? πŸ˜›
    yeah I did have an eventful week, though not as much as expected…but nevertheless!! πŸ˜€

    Thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  4. Sanket

    September 22, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Good post buddy. The protests after the encounter were indeed sad. The whole appeasement politics doesn’t allow police to tackle terrorism effectively. The loss of Inspector Sharma is huge, that man has been involved in nabbing 85 terrorists and has won 10 gallantry medals. May his soul rest in peace. But catching terrorists doesn’t mean that they will be convicted and even if they do get convicted, there is no guarantee that they will get punished. What the hell is going on with Afzal Guru? Why are we taking terrorism so lightly? Does only Afzal Guru have human rights? What about the people who died that day while defending parliament? Their families haven’t even been compensated yet! But Afzal Guru should live! Great! And to our respectable (??) home minister Mr. Patil, his wardrobe is the most important thing!

    Great to hear that you met Pune bloggers! Photos man, jaldi!! πŸ™‚

     
  5. iselldreams

    September 22, 2008 at 10:25 am

    mmmm
    i know wht u mean….
    tths really sad…
    oh yea i was sick in bed due to extreme blogging
    πŸ˜€

     
  6. aparna

    September 22, 2008 at 11:14 am

    dont go here and there..stay at home….

     
  7. Revs

    September 23, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Eventful week what??? whoa!! Glad to be back in one piece eh?? πŸ˜›
    Nice post!!
    do the photo blog soon!! πŸ™‚

     
  8. Vivek

    September 23, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Nice post mate!
    Eventful week u have had! Hope ur keeping well now πŸ™‚

     
  9. Sree

    September 25, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    @ Sanket,

    Thanks a lot buddy for your views…kya kare…if only the terrorists thought about the aftermath…they dont even think twice about killing themselves..sigh!!!
    Yeah had a good time at Pune and met some of the blog pals too!! πŸ˜€
    Thanks!! πŸ˜€

    @ Isd,
    Hehe…hope u r well now!! πŸ˜€

    @ Revs,

    Ya I did…haan photo wala soon…not many though!! πŸ˜‰
    Thanks buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ Vivek,

    Yes sir..much better…thanks a lot!! πŸ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
