RSS

[Spoof-post]~ Mission Coding!!! ;)

23 Sep

I don’t know if anyone else has tried such monkey-tricks before…but I don’t mind pulling such ones off in a manner as humanely as possible!! 😛
This is a spoof of a post which my friend Niveditha wrote on her corporate blog…She called it ‘Mission Kitchen’ and I call mine “Mission Coding”…My piece seems more corporate, don’t you think?? Read it and you will surely disagree!! 😛 Btw to get into the groove, read the original post first, its right below my spoofy version!! 😉

***********************************************************************************************

I normally get accustomed to a technical piece very easily. But there is an exception here. One area with which I have never been able to establish a certain comfort level with, is coding. 😳 I so wish I could love coding as much as I love bugging. But alas I have never been successful in coding and most often I find myself confused about the stuff found in this alien of a source piece.

When left alone with the codes I am left wondering about the weird logic that goes into making it flawlessly run, and how ever much I try I never get any inclination to learn the “art” of coding. 😉 The few things I know I can do decently are…

Raise Syntax errors as instantly as Maggi… :mrgreen:

Make a somewhat decent review, that too just for two hundred lines of code. If it is more or less, I do not know the proportion…and I end up exhausting my vocabulary of technical words.
I can make documentation. Not perfect ones, but ya decent readable/understandable ones…

I can keep bugs in the code editor… 😎

Ya.. That’s about it. There is nothing else I can do in the area of coding, and I always keep listening to one standard dialogue from my manager: “What will you do when you get fired and go? Will you feed your wife with bugs too?”

Well well… I am sure I am going to get a very adjusting wife and am sure I will learn something or the other by that time. So I keep telling my manager not to take any tension from his side. And once I finish this clichéd dialogue I get nothing except a dirty stare from him. 😳

Ah. I remember one particular incident that happened sometime ago. At that time I was much weaker in the coding area than I am now. As was the situation then, my manager used to write the logic and keep it ready for me to build on it before I came to office every Monday. I being the lazy one that I am just had to take the logic and fix it somewhere into the code.  So there I take the logic (something that I thought was logic!) and added some syntax and gave a bulk of code to the poor tester who had asked for it. But that day I felt the original code seemed different and was acting weird. It was unusually throwing exceptions and looked like it had a lot of bugs. Not bothering to actually find out I ran the code package, and so did my tester. She was sweet enough not to say anything. Once my manager was back in the evening asking for the status, I asked what the problem was with the logic. And what he said made me, my teammates and the tester giggle our guts out. That FYI mail from the manager which I thought as logic to apply were actually some similarly seeming test datas for my information which I applied into development and I did not realize that! 😳

Ya… I know you guys think it’s a tad too much. But that’s how bad I was when it came to the coding. Thankfully I am much better now.

PS:  I have made a vow to myself to learn at least some basic coding so as to survive under my manager in the future. Let me see if I keep up this promise or as usual this gets bugged like all the promises I have made to myself. :mrgreen:

***********************************************************************************************

Mission Kitchen – Original post by Niveditha!! 😀

***********************************************************************************************

I normally get accustomed to a place very easily. But there is an exception here. One place where I have never been able to establish a certain comfort level with, is the kitchen. 😳 I so wish I could love cooking as much as I love eating. But alas I have never been successful in cooking and most often I find myself confused about the stuff found in this alien of a place.

When left alone in the kitchen I am left wondering about the weird ingredients that go into a meal, and how ever much I try I never get any inclination to learn the “art” of cooking. 😉 The few things I know I can do decently are…

Prepare Maggi… :mrgreen:

Make a somewhat decent coffee, that too just for two. If it is more or less I do not know the proportion…

I can make dosa. Not perfect ones, but ya decent edible ones…

I can keep rice in the cooker… 😎

Ya.. That’s about it. There is nothing else I can do in the area of cooking, and I always keep listening to one standard dialogue from my mom: “What will you do when you get married and go? Will you leave your husband hungry?”

Well well… I am sure I am going to get a very adjusting husband and am sure I will learn something or the other by that time. So I keep telling my mom not to take any tension from her side. And once I finish this clichéd dialogue I get nothing except a dirty stare from her. 😳

Ah. I remember one particular incident that happened sometime ago. At that time I was much weaker in the kitchen area than I am now.  As was the situation then, my mom used to heat milk and keep it ready for me to have my complan every Saturday before she left for office. I being the lazy one that I am just had to take the milk and pour it into my glass.  So there I take the milk (something that I thought was milk!) and added some complan and gave a glass of milk to the poor maid who had asked for it. But that day I felt the milk looked different and weird. It was unusually frothy and looked like it had a lot of water. Not bothering to actually find out I drank down the contents of my glass, and so did my maid. She was sweet enough not to say anything.  Once my mom was back in the evening I asked what the problem was with the milk. And what she said made me, my mom and the maid laugh our lungs out. That vessel which I thought was milk actually had buttermilk and I did not realize that! 😳

Ya… I know you guys think it’s a tad too much. But that’s how bad I was when it came to the kitchen. Thankfully I am much better now.

PS:  I have made a vow to myself to learn at least some basic cooking so as to survive in my in-laws house in the future. Let me see if I keep up this promise or as usual this goes hiding like all the promises I have made to myself. :mrgreen:

***********************************************************************************************

Don’t call me insane/mad/besharam/anything…I know all that I am!! 😛

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2008 in I~do~such~things

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “[Spoof-post]~ Mission Coding!!! ;)

  1. niveditha

    September 23, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    //Don’t call me insane/mad/besharam/anything…I know all that I am
    i will i will i will….
    INSANE….MAD…BESHARAM.. all in caps…
    kyonki tum ho hi aise…
    duffer..
    he he he…
    fundoo post it was… rofl… i liked it better than the one i wrote… 😛

     
  2. Sanket

    September 24, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Hehe..sahi !!

     
  3. Sujatha

    September 24, 2008 at 9:47 am

    ROTFL!!!

    You sure are exceptional:lol:

     
  4. iselldreams

    September 25, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    so much corporate thing made me more sick
    now i have to spend another day in bed….
    😦
    LOL

     
  5. Revs

    September 25, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Ha ha ha ha!!! OH man!!
    what an idea. more than the post i liked the idea of doing a “parody” on a post. Mind you i liked the post a whole lot too!! 🙂
    Bechaari Nive!! 😀

     
  6. Sree

    September 25, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    @ Nive,

    Better than original…wah, you are toh like Revs would say, Mother Theresa!! So modest!! 😉
    Thanks a lot buddy! 😀

    @ Sanket,

    Thanks buddy!! 😀

    @ Suj,

    Exceptional?? 😮 Hehe…
    Thanks a lot buddy! 😀

    @ Isd,

    Sick again eh?? hehe…cool…you can take rest!! 😉
    Thanks a lot buddy! 😀

    @ Revs,
    Thanks a lot for liking the idea…and oops, the post too!! 😉
    Nive bechaari kyun?? poochke hi kiya!! 😛

     
  7. aparna

    September 26, 2008 at 9:24 am

    blogs ka bhi spoof start ho gayaa….n i thot u write only spoof codes:p

     
  8. Sree

    September 26, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    @ Aparna,

    Hehe…I kinda like to try my hands at everything…hehe..
    Thanks buddy! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
