RSS

Mad Ads-2!! ;)

27 Oct

Well…This was supposed to be an update for the previous post….but whenever someone (ok, especially gals) kinda requests me so sweetly (I guess my collar in their hands is like the closest best-est-est-est thing to happen…kaash…lol) about something I missed, I cant just let it go…can I?? But as I kept on writing, it turned out to be not less than another post by itself….so here’s part-2 of Mad Ads!! πŸ˜›

Now yes, when Preeti (ya I remember your tag, promise to do that soooooooon πŸ™‚ ) asked me in the comment section as to how I could forget those brilliant Ads endorsing water…I was dumbstruck…Right!! How could I??? Don’t I feel the need for that daily? Isn’t it a necessity? Hmmm…reason may be cos I am currently at home…I dont even think about that when here…hehe!! πŸ˜‰

Anyways…It was Sunny Deol who made me realize the importance of that…how important it was to share stuff with friends…’Jab milbaitenge hum teen yaar….Aap, hum aur Bagpiper’!! Then as I grew up, Vijay Mallya confirmed it once more in his own Oooooooo Laaa Laaa ishstyle…even Saurav Ganguly jumped into theΒ cold water for that matter…I was so impressed that when I went to a pub for the first time, I ordered for a Kingfisher Premium and was surprised to be served with chilled beer…I had asked for water, after-all…Now you know how ppl are shown the wrong door!! πŸ˜›

Sunny deol reminds me of those Lux cosy Ads…he used to show his biceps in those Ads…saala, I never got to know why…hehe…Also, I have not even understood that ‘andher ki baat’ thingy too…!! Any one who got that??Β  πŸ˜‰

Lux soap Ads were another favorites…I used to carefully watch when each of those female movie stars took bath by applying Lux to only their hands, legs and those cute cheeks…It was mom who opened my eyes when she said, “Thats not the way to take bath” when even I took bath by applying soap to my arms, legs and err…cute cheeks…lol…Nevertheless…I used to love them all, whoever took bath using Lux soap in that Ad until one day SRK appeared in the bath tub surrounded by all those whom I had once so devotionaly loved…I was devastated…How could they do that to me? And if I try to recollect, no new actress has agreed to endorse Lux post SRK’s macho bathtub fiasco!! πŸ˜›

Complan and Boost had their own effective Ads…I felt nice to say “I’m a complan boy” in school when I would score a goal against my juniors…and again “I’m a complan boy” when I top-scored in English and just cleared Mathematics…My idea then was that drinking complan helped me with my vocabulary and since there was no logic in my thoughts, it obviously didn’t help me in my Mathematical endeavour. πŸ˜‰
Then came Boost with the champion pair of Kapil and Sachin…with Sachin squeeking “Boost is the secret of my energy” and Kapil comparitively roaring “Our energy”…Times have changed, so have the people (first Sehwag and now Dhoni) who roar….but the squeeky ‘aila’ Sachin still remains a pillar of that Ad to-date. Must really be the secret of the little master’s energy. πŸ˜€

The “Bombay Dyeing” and “Only Vimal” Ads made the Indian men feel like they could not only stand on par with their western counterparts, but even beat them in their own backyard. The motivation these suiting Ads gave was like a punch on a sack…there was an impact created!! πŸ˜€ The current Reed&Taylor Ad doesn’t bring in the same effect as its predessesors, probably due to 2 reasons as I see…one, as suits are no longer new in India as every TDH (Tom Dick Harry…and not Tall DarkΒ Handsome, they wear nothing πŸ˜› )Β wears them and two, a 65+ year old man endorsing it doesn’t seem to be the “IN” thing…however BIG the Bee is!! πŸ˜‰

The Amul Ads are a class apart….but they never have brought that creativity to the idiot box. May be cos they believe more in bringing an effect with “one liners” on the huge hoardings…and the fact that they come up with a new one almost every week (if not every day), is indeed commendable! Brilliant actually!! πŸ˜€

Those “Danth Manjan” (tooth powder) Ads seem so funny these days…when a dentist asks “Which tooth powder do you use?” and then he says “Use Colgate Tooth powder”…Who uses tooth powder these days?? I have been to my dad’s birthplace, which is a rural area…and they too use the latest in toothpastes!! But way back then, it seemed so logical when Vicco and Colgate endorsed their tooth powders through dentists who used fresh white artificial dentures to prove how “white” the tooth powders made them!! I believed it then…sigh…hehe!! πŸ˜€

Well…if I think a little more, there will be another long list of Ads that have impacted me till this point in life….some impacts I have not yet directly used though!! πŸ˜›

Hope all you guys are having a good Diwali…Look at me, am writing all such posts…and why do I need to burst crackers, when am bursting out like a ‘crack’? Food for thought na??? πŸ˜›

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2008 in Thoughts

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Mad Ads-2!! ;)

  1. iselldreams

    October 27, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    SRK in bathtube with gorgeus woman in a bathtube full of flowers is my fav. ad for sure:D

     
  2. preeti

    October 28, 2008 at 12:02 am

    thank you thank you for getting encouraged by my wonderful comments πŸ™‚ boost was best with sachin πŸ™‚
    sree, even now you missed the fair and lovely ads (for both genders ), and andher ki baat thingy, well, i don have the guts to see beyond the lux cosy wear of sunny munda πŸ˜› and i gotta doubt , how come the chandelier reflected in Tabu’s hair?, in lux shampoos ad (i think) and now a malnourished girl from somalia in garnier fructis ad is havin such a over nourished hair way below her ass. kaisse bhai?? err.. hope you write mad ads 3 πŸ™‚ koi nahin to main hoon na padnekeliye πŸ™‚

     
  3. sanket

    October 28, 2008 at 9:09 am

    You are on a roll dude πŸ™‚

     
  4. Sree

    October 28, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    @ Isd,

    Haha…yeah…I have no problems with SRK in the bathtub…but why those gorgeous ones need to be around the same bathtub…shortage of bathrooms and bathtubs kya?? πŸ˜›
    Thanks buddy!! πŸ˜€

    @ Preeti,

    Arree…wahi main bola na…there are lotsa things which can be covered, and its like a never ending list!! πŸ˜›
    Part-3 kya?? kyun nahi…sometime in the future!! πŸ˜‰
    Thanks a lot buddy!! πŸ˜€

    @ Sanket,

    Hehe…thanks a lot buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  5. niveditha

    October 28, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    fair and handsome ka kya hua??? πŸ˜‰

    and hey.. u din talk about the insurance ads.. they appeal to us on a very emotional level don they?

    and err.. ur cute cheeks???? 😯

    OMG!!!! i need some fresh air to combat that shock… πŸ˜‰
    pls sree.. aise heart attack mat diya karo.. warna it will surely become like the lux ad with srk!!!

     
  6. aparna

    October 29, 2008 at 9:16 am

    abbaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.,,,,

     
  7. Sree

    October 29, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    @ Nive,

    Arre…like that there are many re…will write sometime!! πŸ˜›
    I love that recent one where a kid goes “Banana” to “Cze-koz-lava-kia” (I dunno the spelling myself)!! πŸ˜€
    Ya my cheeks are cute…tum kya jaano!! πŸ˜›
    Thanks buddy! πŸ˜€

    @ Aparna,

    I love ABBA too…one of the best pop bands of the last century!! πŸ˜€
    I know u didnt mean that…but mad ad(dition)s from me there!! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  8. Revs

    October 31, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Ha ha ha ha. mazaa aa gaya!! πŸ™‚
    how can u forget the raymond ad. i remember there was this popular joke a couple of years back about it. it went something like this

    Q. why did the homosexual go to the raymonds showromm
    A. to become a complete man!!

    lol!!
    Mast post man. you can write a whole book on M(ad)s!! πŸ˜›

     
  9. Sree

    October 31, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    @ Revs,

    lol…ya I had heard of that complete man…ek line mein – Haath maarte gaya, taali bajaate aaya – complete!! πŸ˜‰
    Will cover some more in another part…I think this will never end! We can be creative about creativity!! πŸ˜›
    Thanks buddy! πŸ˜€

     
  10. Jass

    November 1, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    All of a sudden i am reminded of the sprite ads. “Sprite bhujaye only pyaas baki sab bakwaas” πŸ™‚

    Keep em posts coming!

     
  11. Sree

    November 1, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    @ Jass,

    Hehe…I know dude…those Ads are super good…I need to cover those…I covered the cola ads in just one line…my bad…need to think on these!! πŸ˜€

    Thanks buddy!! πŸ˜€

     

Leave a Reply

 
