RSS

A journey into this year….

04 Jan

31st Dec’08: I had to catch an early train to Bangalore, my hometown. As I headed towards Chennai Central on a MTC bus, I had a sudden realization…Three years had passed by since I came down to Chennai! Phew…how…err…
…I was now being tapped on my shoulders by a man in his early thirties, who was sitting next to me…

He: I am going to Warangal, you?
Me: Bangalore…
He: Bangalur, Kar-a-nataka-waaa??
Me: Yes. Warangal, Andhra na?
He: Yes yes yes, Aaandhra Pardesh wonly…my birth place.
Me (with a smile): Hmmm…nice.
He: I know little little Englees…learning only from talking taking.
Me: Good…that is how one learns the best.
He: What is your name? My name is Madhukar.
Me: Sreeram. Nice to meet you.
He: Nice nice nice. You in Software-a?
Me: Yes. Read the company name on the bag, didn’t you?
He: Yes yes yes, a little Englees I can read. Me a Welder, I do welding.
Me: Hmm…good…
He: You travel on bus always, or because of recession?
Me: Err…

Though I took the bus as always to the station, that question stumped me. How aware was he of the on-going situation inspite of his knowing “little little little”! Phew…

vogue

I reached the station an hour early before the train was scheduled to depart…I sat down with a cup of coffee, going back down the lane picturing how things shaped up at work or otherwise in the last 3 years. It wasn’t all that creamy…most of the time, I had to settle for the cake sans the icing…there were some who liked just the icing! 😉

I took my seat on the train…and as it moved away from Chennai, I had lots of time to do a retrospect on the year that went by.

The third year had its share of ups and downs…the ups were surprising and memorable…the downs were unavoidable and forgettable…The number 3 once again proved lucky to me, as I stepped up the ladder with a promotion last June…it was unexpected mainly due to the sheer number of peers who were in contention. On the other hand, most of my batchmates and friends moved out…either out of Chennai or of the Company on the pretext of transfers, studies and change-overs…

Compared to the first two years, I sadly feel that I have lost all my luck this year whenever I travelled from Chennai to Bangalore (and vice versa)…its been only ailing adults and wailing kids in the vicinity of my berth…God knows what happened to the normal adults and the 20+ whatever damsels…Hope things fall in place this year. Btw, am travelling tonight back to Chennai…Fingerz Crossed! 😉

As the train approached Bangalore, I was tapped again on my shoulders…it was a well built manly Transvestite in a saree who  brought me back to reality. I smiled at him/her/that, but he/she/it wasn’t interested in my smile…With hands being clapped like the beating of drums, that person with remains of pan-beeda all over his teeth then asked me for money…With music still playing in my ears, I shook my head sidewise indicating that I wasn’t interested in funding nor feeling pity over his genetic confusion. He blurted some abuses and left the scene to tap some other sleeping shoulder. Now do I feel bad about the abuse which I didn’t get to hear, thanks to the earphones???!! 😀

Anyways, I reached home hoping that the year ahead will have many more memorable moments in the pipeline! 😉
And also, a very big thanks to each one of you in this virtual blog world for being a part of my life…It wouldn’t have been what it is, without any of you! 🙂

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2009 in Happens~2~me

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “A journey into this year….

  1. chriz

    January 4, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    u too had a gr8 trans experience

     
  2. iselldreams

    January 4, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    phew what a travelling !

    shukar hai you reached home safe and sound and hope you will return safe and sound as well:)

     
  3. triplicani

    January 4, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    I think transvestites behave in the way they do in India mainly due to the abuses thrown on them and aversion shown to them by normal people.

    It is not their mistake that they were born transvestites or sent out to beg. It is the society and their parents who should be blamed.

    Thankfully, slowly awareness is dawning on people to treat these people also in the right way.

    In about 25 to 30 years we may see a big change in the way gays (I think they are known as gays these days) are treated by the society.

    One TV is doing the right thing in this direction. Vijay TV hosts a talk show “Ipadikku Rose” where the host is a gay.

    God bless them.

    Regards
    R Sathyamurthy
    http://www.sathyamurthy.com

     
  4. Als

    January 4, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Nice dialogue yaar… 😀
    Whatever be the dialogue, its always good/ interesting to talk to new people (not only the ’20+ whatever damsels’ 😛 ) while travelling, provided it does not end up in something baaaad. na?

    hmmmm and about the transvetites, (i dint know they were called this… on reading further, came to know you were referring to them), that happens on every train journey i guess…
    But as Sathya has said above, it is our indifference that leads them more into such behaviour I think… You know, definitely it is not their mistake because they are that way! 😦

    …and what a experience you’ve had last year, buddy! But i was expecting atleast one/some mushy somethings here and there…
    ha.. it was all abt work. No romance last year eh? 😉

    The pic.. hee hee 😀
    Sree you were fooled.. you are closing your eyes expecting something (??? 😀 )… but looks like the two girls are seeing each other… Something wrong? 😉

     
  5. Nayna

    January 5, 2009 at 1:51 am

    hey hvn’t you been told not to talk to strangers??? lolz
    Nice account of your journey.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and posting comments, pls do visit again.

    http://cutestangel.wordpress.com/

     
  6. Sriram

    January 5, 2009 at 6:19 am

    you bloody #%$^#^ you had to make me all nostalgic, didn’t you!! when I’m stuck here all alone.

    Happy new year anyway 🙂

     
  7. aparna

    January 5, 2009 at 11:27 am

    budhaaapa mubaarak ho:p

     
  8. amrita

    January 5, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    i belong to the ” i wont give any alms whatever happens ” group. ya u can call me mean & heartless but what to do , papa ke paise awai dene ka man nahi karta .

    that was a sweet guy sitting besides u , sometimes i get so bored sitting all quiet on long journeys :).

    I also feel that no genetic thing should come in the way of *right to education*, same thing sort of happens to females in our country .

    too much of bhashan 🙂 & thanks 🙂 keep blogging.

     
  9. amrita

    January 5, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    oh & i think u used a politer word for eunuchs . transvetites are cross dressers?? ( i thought)

     
  10. Aishwarya

    January 5, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Read it at Ch1!
    But this photo.. What an idea S3ji! 😀
    Vogue eh? mmmm.. hehehe

     
  11. Sree

    January 5, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    @ Chriz,

    Indeed…but it wasnt bad this time…have had worst experiences…it was just a brush this time! 🙂
    Thanks buddy!! 😀

    @ Isd,

    Safely reached!! Thanks for your prayers buddy!! 😀

     
  12. Sree

    January 5, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    @ Sathya,

    I certainly agree with you there!! It definitely isn’t their fault for where they stand…the society treats them that way! Its the responsibility of us individuals to see to it that we dont ridicule them nor encourage their behaviour…!!
    Its sad that they resort to begging…and its more of demanding than begging that they do!!
    Hope they get better than what they are getting!!
    Thanks for visiting!! 🙂

     
  13. Sree

    January 5, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    @ Als,

    //Whatever be the dialogue, its always good/ interesting to talk to new people// Indeed…but this was just on the bus to the station…there was no one on the train journey!!
    //(not only the ‘20+ whatever damsels’ )// 😛

    //i dint know they were called this… on reading further, came to know you were referring to them// Thats what cross dressers are called! 🙂
    //it is our indifference that leads them more into such behaviour I think… You know, definitely it is not their mistake because they are that way!// yes…sadly…

    //But i was expecting atleast one/some mushy somethings here and there…// Hope this year end you get to read some!! 😛
    //No romance last year eh?// So many of them…what to do!! 😉

    //Sree you were fooled.. you are closing your eyes expecting something (??? )… but looks like the two girls are seeing each other… Something wrong?// Bad luck I guess…I was just feeling the warmth! 😛

    Thanks a lot buddy!! 😀

     
  14. Sree

    January 5, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    @ Nayna,

    Hehe…
    Thanks a lot for liking my post…I loved the shayaris on your blog…too many to leave a comment on all…will do here on!! 🙂

    @ Brig,

    Hehe…that was not meant to be!! 😉
    Hope you had a smooth journey and will be in the arms of babes soon! 😛
    Thanks buddy!! 😀

    @ Aparna,

    Oyyyeeeeeeeeeeee
    Tu bhi na… 😛
    Thanks buddy!! 😀

     
  15. Sree

    January 5, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    @ Amrita,

    //i belong to the ” i wont give any alms whatever happens ” group. ya u can call me mean & heartless but what to do , papa ke paise awai dene ka man nahi karta .// I am in that too…I dont encourage begging…its sadly become a profession now…

    //that was a sweet guy sitting besides u , sometimes i get so bored sitting all quiet on long journeys// nahi re..he was with me for the short journey till the station..but ya was sweet! 🙂

    //I also feel that no genetic thing should come in the way of *right to education*, same thing sort of happens to females in our country .// Am very much in sync with what you say here…very true…

    //oh & i think u used a politer word for eunuchs . transvetites are cross dressers?? ( i thought)// Nah re…those were transvestites…who are cross dressers…Eunuchs are those who dont know what they are – the confused lot!!

    Thanks a lot buddy!! 😀

     
  16. Sree

    January 5, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    @ Aishu…

    hehe…haan ji…hum vogue mein aana chahte hey!! 😛

    Thanks a lot buddy!!! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
