RSS

Just another day…like everyday! ;)

16 Feb

I was jogging…it was a lovely morning…two girls jogging ahead of me and one following…I was now profusely perspiring due to the work-out…
The loud knock on the door woke me up. There was no power to ring the bell.
I opened the door, with one eye open (see how optimistic I am! :P). It was the milkman.
He said, “Saar, no milk today…the cow is sick”!
I replied, “That’s ok…gimme black coffee!”…
The look on the milkman’s face made me realize that he was my milkman and not the vending machine operation in my office pantry.
I was still sleepy. It was a lovely morning. What if it’s hot? I still have the energy left in me to continue jogging.

I pick up the newspaper, close the door and turn around. – This part is programmed in me even in my sleepy state…cos if I get out of my flat door, it’s a ladies PG next door! 😛 And if I don’t pick up the paper, there’ll be nothing to pick later.
Once I turn around, I have 2 options in hand.
1) Take a turn left, and continue jogging.
2) Take a turn right, and get ready to be in office on time – as usual (these are 2 important words…this being a corporate blog)! 😀

Let’s say for now am obsessed to be in office on time. So option 2.

As I enter the bathroom, my optimistic eye would have flipped back to the position of its pessimistic counterpart. I have told my roommates a few million times not to keep their shaving creams next to the toothpaste. You will now know why! 😦
How much ever an effort I make to split wide open (its just about my Naina, I would talk about) my eyes, they blindly refuse! 😛 I don’t prefer a battle early in the morning, so I let them win, as my hands pick up my toothbrush and the toothpaste simultaneously.
Now if my roommates have been careless, its me who will pay. The Colgate toothpaste and their Park Avenue shaving cream feel almost the same. The same size and shape…and even if I slighly open my eyes, they seem the same…white with blue and red hues on them. I am an illiterate early in the morning, if you ask me “Can’t you read the label on the tube?”! 😀 So I have had days with lather in my mouth. If I talk less on some days, you now know why. And oh ya, thankfully the soframycine tubes are smaller and differently shaped else I wouldn’t have been writing this post.
The commode and me have an agreement. The one and only clause is “You are over-weight. 2 mins only”! The geyser doesn’t like me to turn it on. 😉 So it gives me water at a temperature as it is in the main tank above, nothing less nothing more.
I am out of that damn manhoos place (DMP) in max 20 minutes. This doesn’t mean I am all wide-n-awake. 😀

I wake up one of my roommates telling them to take over the DMP as I am done with it. I ask them, “What day it is today?”…Taking their answer on face value, I dress up accordingly for office. Jai ho!
Once am all dressed and ready, I know I will not head again to jog. I am programmed that way! 😀
I switch on the TV – channel 9X music – loud enough to keep me alive and awake. I don’t watch the TV though. Amidst that music, I read the newspaper and eat my daily morning toast. I don’t forget to nod my head in a rhythm as per the music, as I digest both printed news and my toast.
About 10 songs later, am done with the newspaper and with nothing else to do I wear my shoes and decide to be at office in time.

Not everyday is my bad day, but when it comes to driving it is. If I drive the way I love, someone will be stupid enough to come and hit my vehicle from the front. If I drive the way I’m (always) adviced to, someone will be attentive enough to hit on the backside. If you ask me, I don’t prefer being attacked from behind. I now need to learn driving my Activa in the air. Hmm…

Once inside the campus, I have to park my Activa strategically. Under a tree for the shade or under the clear blue sky for a clean Activa sans crow-poop. Though I love my vehicle, I give it no freedom to choose. I prefer to keep it under the blue (hot sunny) sky! But I must add: Not everyday is my Activa’s good day. Flying crows do it sometimes on my baby. I wonder, that’s why its called motion. As someone clearly sighed, “Thankfully, cows don’t fly and perch on trees”! (Not sure if he said the ‘Perch on trees’ part, but I add it anyways)! 😀

geek

Once in office, I am all decent. Not that I am not otherwise. But in office, am decent to my own surprise. I don’t pull my senior manager’s leg for instance. I even wear my spectacles, for a better view err…at the monitors. And most importantly, (you are not supposed to laugh/smile/giggle/taunt/tease/go-awww at this moment of truth!) I work. 😀 I am proud to say that for the things that I do and the way in which I do them, there have been no escalations whatsoever. So I work, smart if not hard. Yay! 😀
These days, I am taking a break from breaks. I have reduced it considerably. There were days when I would be acknowlegded by every pantry guy in the entire TCO campus. These days I restrict myself to just my building – SDB3 – yes, all the four pantries in this block.

Office Communicator (OC) is a very funny tool. I love to play with the status options and messages. I use only 3 out of the 5 status options it provides.
1) Green – whenever I go green (which is rare), ppl ask me “Green? Jobless? No work?” – I wish I could tell them that it’s depicting my ‘available’ status! 😉
2) Red – I am always in red…mainly cos I am inspired to work when in this status. Also, I love the blood(y) color.
3) DND – This one I hate…cos I am on this status only when my onsite guy rides on me. Not literally, but to deliver before time. Sometimes I feel he’ll be happy only if I deliver reports to him in ‘history’.
The two yellows – “BRB” and “Away” – are for dirty fellows (sorry dirty fellows, for calling you that 😛 ). This I don’t use manually, never. I cannot make justice to “BRB” cos I cannot be back on my seat right or left, never.

At the evening break, am clear as to when I would be heading for home. Unless there are last minute onsite calls, my clarity is bang on! 😀
We cook dinner at home. What I cook for the night depends on my mood, which in turn depends on how clean my Activa was when I started back home from office. So it’s the messy crows which decide what my roommates and me eat at dinner. Oye Lucky, Lucky Oye! 😀
One to two hours I sit on my laptop, with the sole intention of troubling you poor folks the next day with some stuff or the other that leaks outta my mind.
I read a book (which I take ages to complete) – currently ‘Wise and Otherwise’ by Sudha Murthy – till I feel sleepy.
And before I go to bed, I pray for a better tomorrow – A good jogging session, toothpaste in my mouth, a safe ride, a clean Activa, dinner of choice! – Amen! 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2009 in I~do~such~things

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Just another day…like everyday! ;)

  1. iselldreams

    February 17, 2009 at 12:10 am

    wow what a sincere post! while reading, i almost lived the day with you except the jogging part as i m nt interested in walking girls 😛
    i ll pray for you tonite as well to prevent the crows ruining your day lol

     
  2. aparna

    February 17, 2009 at 9:13 am

    n somebody says my life is boring 😛

     
  3. Pavithra Vijay

    February 17, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Cool rant!!! especially the way you described the start of your day!! the toothpaste and shaving lather confusion!!! too good!! loved it, buddy!! 🙂

     
  4. Sree

    February 17, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    @ Isd,

    Hehe…haan kya? lolz…cool! 😀
    oh ya…need those prayers badly! 😉 It did the shameful thing yesterday too! 😦
    Thanks buddy! 😀

    @ Aparna,

    Who’s somebody? 😛
    Thanks buddy! 😀

    @ Pavi,

    Hehe…thats true almost every once a week! 😀
    Thanks buddy! 😀

     
  5. cutestangel

    February 18, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    wow what a good account of your day, I love the funny anecdotes throughout.
    A really enjoyable read.

    http://cutestangel.wordpress.com/

     
  6. arshat

    February 18, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    hehehehehe… funny funny funny… good post..
    I liked the part where you compared toothpaste, shaving cream and soframycin.. rotfl..
    Blogrolling ya!

     
  7. Sree

    February 18, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    @ C-A,

    Thanks a lot for liking it buddy! 😀

    @ Arshat,

    Hey thanks a lot for the blogroll!! I loved your story post…glad it won the best of ’08 award! Congrats once again Mr. TPI!! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
