RSS

[Funtakshari]~This is how we met…

23 Jul

This is how we met…
…though I haven’t told you guys the story yet!

And well…the story is yet to be scripted by the power up above. But anyways, let me picture how it could turn out to be. Common, a little bit of futuristic thinking won’t hurt… 😛

“Son, you will have an arranged marriage when you grow up…just like how daddy to marry me” – I was told, when on my 4th birthday I insisted (read: COL-ed = Cried Out Loud) on making the cute double pony tailed Aisha sit next to me.

That was not the only time. I had to hear that time and again, almost every time I took a gal’s name out of my big mouth, where secrets seldom settled.

In 7th standard – “What kinda punishment is this? Making you sit next to a gal? Son, you remember na? When u grow up, you will have an arranged marriage like your daddy!”

After my 10th standard convocation photo was clicked, I was quickly reminded that the gal who stood next to me was not the one for me – “Son, you are too young to choose the right one!”

My 11th and 12th went by in silence – literally – as I was admitted into an all boys pre-university college.

During the engineering, as I practically experimented (in the labs) with my female partner, my consciousness projected on my mental screen a projection of mom advising me – “Son, either you do the experiment or watch her do it. Do not hold the same wire together, there would surely be a short-circuit…remember, we have the responsibility of arranging your marriage!”

“Mom, I got selected at campus…and the lady who selected told me I was very good”…
“Son, remember…you will have an arranged marriage when you get some experience…by the way, congrats and all the best”

“Mom, the batch owner told me I would make a good batch representative…she also said…”
“Son, remember…you will have an arranged marriage…batch representative eh? nice…is she a senior?”

“Mom, I got allocated into my first project…the lady manager was…”
“Son, remember…you will have an arranged marriage whenever you are ready…manager too eh??”

“Son, you are now experienced enough at work to get settled in your life. The time has now come for me to arrange you a bride…”

“Ok son…so here are two pics…choose one”
“But mom, why do I have to choose? I thought you will arrange one!” :O

“Son, your horoscope has matched with Neeta’s. Do call her up tomorrow and see if she would like to meet you. Our responsibility of arranging, ends here…rest is up to you both!”
“What? Call her and say what? That mom asked me to call you? And then what?”
“Common son, you know and talk to a lot of gals don’t you?? what is the problem now?”

So there I am now…with a girl’s phone number in hand…not sure what to talk about, on calling.
“Call son, call…we are there for you…all the best…we are here only…gives us the good news!”

“Hello, is that Neeta?”
“Ya speaking…”
“This is Sreeram here”
“Hey hi dude…”
“How are you doing?”
“Chillin out man…how about you?”
“Err…eh….yes me too, yes yes…”
“Wassup?”
“So…well…by the way…you know…actually…anyways…”
“You wanna meet me?”
“Yes…my mom wanted us to meet”
“You didn’t?”
“Hmm…yes yes me to…yes yes”
“Ok how about tomorrow, 7pm at Baristas?”
“Ok done…bye”

As I turned back, there were 2 sets of full fledged smiling faces…
“Arranged no?? Arranged no??”

So there I was next day at Baristas…exactly at 6pm…practising a few lines I had scribbled on my cell editor….
This was not just another gal that I would be meeting, for the first time…but if we get along, chances are that we might have to get along all through the rest of our lives. It was simply scary…not her, but the thought and the situation.
I had three cups of strong black coffee in the next one hour or so, while memorizing those scribbled lines…

And quarter past 7, she walked in….

This is how we first met…
…though I haven’t told you guys THE STORY yet!  😉

Disclaimer: The story in this post, is part imaginary and part – that of my cousin…especially the phone call and the barista meet. And yeah as usual, the imaginary part is in excess! 😉

PS: This is my installment write up to the on-going Funtakshari…at my internal corporate blog…For the unknown, Funtakshari is the written form of Antakshari which we guys are innovating on…Where in the last line of the previous post, is the first line of the current post.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2010 in Imaginative Bakwaas, Stories

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “[Funtakshari]~This is how we met…

  1. megzone

    July 23, 2010 at 7:29 am

    yaaaayyy… so finally this is out :D:D:D::DD:D:
    accha story tha…
    ab jaldi se arrange karwa shaadi and firse aisech ek post likhna ok 😀

     
  2. Ellen

    July 23, 2010 at 11:26 am

    LOL why was neeta talking like a dude and not a dudette? sounds fishy to me.

     
  3. Preethi

    July 24, 2010 at 2:14 am

    Nice!!! very funny..
    Till I read the last part, I almost thought that it was autobiographical ;-). I miss the Channelone blogs a llllot.It used to be so good. I quit just when I was just starting to make friends..
    Anyways, remember one thing buddy, you will have an arraged marriage 😀 😀

     
  4. Sree

    July 26, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Thanks guys 🙂

    @ Megs, haan re…hehe…hote hi likhunga 😛

    @ El…lol…shya…maybe I couldnt get into her mind properly this time…locha hogaya 😀

    @ Preetz, haha..no no not yet autobio 😛
    I miss u there too…no high fives 😦
    haha…yeah…will remember…being reminded since childhood that even on forgetting there’s someone to remind again 😉

     
  5. Amit

    August 8, 2010 at 12:32 am

    ha ha ..ROFL !
    Though imaginary, I still foresee something 🙂

     
  6. Sree

    August 20, 2010 at 12:06 am

    @ Amit,

    now u know 😉
    thanks buddy! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
