RSS

[Stories][Guest-post]~Memories…

10 Aug

“Memory is a way of holding onto the things you love, the things you are, the things you never want to lose.”  ~From the television show ‘The Wonder Years’.

It was a rainy night…Fog slowly settling down the street, making anything hardly visible…

It was not a typical day; as the day threw up a lot of unpleasant surprises…I missed the morning bus…Sheetal didn’t prepare food nor gave me her daily morning hug…I locked up the car with keys inside…didn’t find an auto & almost walked 3 kms to get back home…what a tiring day…

But none of this seemed significant now…as it was nearing 11 pm & Sheetal was still not back at home…

I had called her office & found that she had long left…called her best buddy – Rangeen – only to know she hadn’t spoken to her that day…

I was racing up and down the worn-out corridor, in front of my house…not sure what to do….my eyes just wandered and settled at the corner…on the age-old clay pot, holding Sheetal’s favorite lavender plant.

It was at a small nursery in Delhi where my aunt sold her precious plants / earth ware…

Hmmmm ahhhh… I can still feel the smell of mud ….

It was around 10 am on one of those lazy Saturdays when after a lot of cajoling I agreed to watch the nursery for her, for a couple of hours…I being in my usual attire was lounging around with a chai mutka…when someone from behind just ordered me to take the lavender plant & place it in the car boot.

Raging with anger (as I was not used to being ordered at) I was all set to snap at the person when I saw that pretty face searching for the next plant to buy… Well…I was an eligible bachelor & kept myself upbeat with bollywood…there were the birds chirping…the snow falling….the person in front, in a white dress…slow ‘bahon mein chale aao’ playing in the background…my anger just turned to all smile…

As all good things come to a full stop – she said to me “Saman utao…Car mein rakho…abey madam-ji kab tak ayengi?” (Keep the things in my car…and when will madam come?).

She assumed me to be a servant/helper……..shiii……

The sound of the rain outside my house just brought me back to reality………….

I rushed inside and closed a few windows before they dared to spoil our low dhari bed…it was a red bedspread…Sheetal’s favorite one…still fresh with her smell…

I was at Fab India (a shop which specializes in home décor) to pick up something for my aunt (her 60th Birthday was a day away & I promised her that I will not only remember her Birthday but also surprise her with a gift).

My aunt was an integral part of my life…she had hardly taught me anything…but then I had learnt one solid lesson from her – “LOVE”…

She was a very tasteful person & home was where her heart was…so the best gift I thought was to give her something to deck her home up.

I picked up a beautiful dhari for her & was scanning through the shop to find her something else…I found a very beautiful wall hanging…satisfied…I headed to bill…

That’s when I realized the dhari I had picked was missing from the billing counter…

“Sir I think there is some mistake – that madam just paid & bought the dhari….

I saw her (for the second time) walking back to her car ……

I was sweating badly & realized it was because of the power cut…and thanks to our neighbor’s generator…at least few things were visible around…I walked through to the dining area & lighted a candle…

It was my aunt’s birthday the next day & I thought it was not a great idea to wake her up in the middle of the night…but some of her friends didn’t think so.

There was a loud cry from her room that got me up in a jiffy & I raced over there in my boxer shorts.

My aunt was on the verge of tears with a piece of cake in her mouth & the red dhari in her hand!

Sheetal had pooled in some of our common friends & had surprised aunty. ..well and me too as I was standing in front of few good looking girls showing my bare body & well shaped biceps… (Thank god I went to the gym last evening 😀 )

I thanked all my gods, as I could afford that AC – it switched itself on & was pushing that cool breeze towards me…

It was a Saturday night and I was late as usual – jumping into my jeans and pulling over a T…I vrooooomed on my bike as fast as I could…My mind was preparing me on all valid reasons I could tell her…

“My aunt wanted me to be home”…Nah she’s not gonna buy this one.

“I met someone I knew on the way”…So? What’s the big deal? How can you be 1 hr late???

“Hmm….I met with a small accident on the way?” No no…not such a big lie…

She was there in front of our usual meet up place in her blue kurti & matching bag…ahh…why does she have to look so awesome today?!!

Sheel…I am sorry …slept & woke up 10 min ago!

There goes her chubby cheeks…ooffffo…just love the way it turns blue…orange …& finally red!

With a final glare she was on the rear seat of my best pal – my bike…it was a dreamy experience to take her on my bike…with the cool breeze pushing her hair away & her face lighting up every time our eyes met on the mirror.

We reached our destination & cuddled up in a cozy corner of that small hotel – a table just for the two of us.

Both of us were foodies…so when it came to eating, we meant business…& kept our mushy mushy talks away for sometime…We discussed cricket, movies , the Mallya’s, the Ambani’s & finally our dessert arrived…the ever inviting Eden Special Dessert…

I was jolted to reality by a growling sound…that was coming from my body…the rats in my stomach were playing baseball…I was terribly hungry…and thirsty…

I picked up a chilled bottle from my fridge & had a gulp…wow…water tasted sweeter than ever…

With 2 days to go for our wedding…I took Sheel for a private ride…I wanted to take her to this place for quite a long time now…but as things were moving at a maddening pace between us we hardly had any time to breath 😀

I used to frequent this place when I was in college – a serene hillside water body…can’t call it a water fall though…a small valley between two small hills…with water pouring at its own pace…a place full of flora & fauna…
Her eyes sparkled as she went near the water…I would say she thoroughly enjoyed it…and that’s what I wanted too…

I bent down went on my knees with a small diamond ring in my hand & asked her “Will you marry me?”

I could hear heavy lighting…thunderous downpour…& a lot of pain………………………………

I now heard a voice…the voice which I had wished to hear since long…

And as the voice came closer & closer…I could barely see anything as if I was totally blinded…and then I saw some of it…some light!

I woke up with excruciating pain…in an unimaginable state…but I smiled…as I felt safe…felt at home…

As Sheel bent down & kissed me…I could see a few of my close friends as well as my aunt…who had prayed all night that I should be safe…No one ever believed, that I would be alive after that massive an accident.

As for now, more than anything I loved to be in the company of Sheel…& asked her again, “Will you marry me?” 🙂

**********************************************************
Bhairavi – the author of this story – is a very good friend of mine. 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2010 in Stories

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “[Stories][Guest-post]~Memories…

  1. megzone

    August 10, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    eeeeeeeehhh….masssttttt….
    very nice narration and waatttaa twist yarrr.. ekdum zabrakooo 😀

     
  2. aaradhnak

    August 10, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Lovely and very lively narration….. Mastttt likhaa hai ekdam 🙂
    //And as the voice came closer & closer…I could barely see anything as if I was totally blinded…and then I saw some of it…some light!// Wonderfully she has explained everything…. 🙂 Keep them coming Sree 😀

     
  3. Rajlakshmi

    August 10, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    awwww thats such a sweeeetttt story 😀
    beautifullly narrated… the guy is just like you 😛

     
  4. Sree

    August 20, 2010 at 12:10 am

    Thanks Megs! 🙂

    Thanks Aaradhnak 😀

    Thanks Princess! 😀 unlucky guy 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
