RSS

The Last Bachelor Post! ;)

03 Nov

In less than a fortnight from now, it will all be over – the golden era of bachelorhood, that is. It just struck me that I will then be speaking about these days in the past tense. In the last two months or so, I’ve been getting a lot of material in the form of mail forwards and messages on topics like “How to, be a good husband!”, “How to, keep your wife happy!”, “How, saying YES is always advantageous!” 😛 , “Why, NOT arguing is safer than self defense!” and so on. Not that I’m miffed, but every read of such a material reminds me of an approaching end.

We become what we eventually turn out to be, and friends play a very important role in that. Though I’ve had my share of crushes all through school life, it was in the summer of ’96 that I was told by a friend – “Don’t let the gals make a bro out of you…you never know what all they will make u do! Instead, do what we guys do!” – and thus began my tryst with flirting…so much of it, that I had no other go but to resort to un-flirting in order to unwind myself! 😉

Gals who saw their bro in me, were avoided or asked to stay away…and those who showed an inclination to make something out of our ‘fraandships’ were advised and convinced into believing “Being just friends is so much fun!”…But then too much of anything sucks the life out of us. Same did happen with this un-flirting portfolio. There then began that urge to find that one perfect partner whom you could spend the rest of your life with. This ‘feeling of loneliness’ was self-confessed to mom in late ’08 which surprisingly was very well received, of course after a few exchanges of dialogues.
Mom: “You are still very young…why so early?”
Me: “Well I thought it takes time to search a gal, in an arranged marriage. So, I….well…how about love marriage, then?”
Mom: “No no…I’ll search a gal for you. If you find a gal who can speak Konkani, then introduce her to me!”
Me (didn’t say): **So that means I need to ask the gal – do you speak Konkani – before falling in love with her…?”
Me: “Oh! That is tough…it’s simpler for you to find me one…” (I get to see the “I WIN” grin on her face).

Well…the search that began early ’09 took well over a year…15 months to be exact…got my share of unmatched horoscopes all along…till this one with Su matched early July’10, the first one to do so. And
And oh! Arranged marriage is quite a procedure, and this is how I think it went in my case:
1) The gal’s side received my horoscope (horror-scope?) through someone who knew both the parties (Note: There’s always such someone!)
2) Horoscopes did match on the gal’s side…so they contacted my mom, who asked them to send across the gal’s horoscope.
3) Mom received the gal’s horoscope…asked me to confirm if I was indeed ready…a clear YES, she gets to hear…so it was posted to the astrologer.
4) A week later, astrologer called up to confirm that the horoscopes matched from our end too.
5) Gal’s parents were informed, requesting them to send the gal’s photo…and asking them to check the guy’s pic on his Facebook profile (“He’s everywhere there!” 🙄 )!
6) I was later given her email ID asking me to get in touch.
Then you know how it all would have gone! 😀

Marriage shopping…phew…its one hell of a fun ride…never seems to get over, but eventually has to stop when the bank balance drains out! 😉

I came home with a tie in hand, showed it to granny…she asked me “how much did you pay for that?”
I replied “It cost me 1399 bucks, too much I now feel…” and she got all nostalgic…
“You know, my entire marriage shopping was done with 500 rupees…including the jewelery!”
“Wow…500…we don’t get 3 pairs of socks these days! Btw, what was the price of gold then?”
“32 per gram…very costly then!”
she said rolling her eyes.
“Sigh! Wish I had a time machine now…”

As I look forward to this new phase in life, there’s this feeling of separation from that phase of life where I’d embraced irresponsibility, insanity, carelessness, aloofness, solitude, late nights, late mornings and laziness. And even though I know that I can still hold on to a few of these traits, I’ll miss the ones which I’ll need to let go of.
And well, some things don’t change…like reporting to someone at home…only the boss changes, or if it goes worst – 2 bosses!! 😉

Spidey’s uncle had once said “With great power, comes great responsibility” …and I add, “…and so it does with marriage!” 😉

This is my last post…as a bachelor! 😛 Co-incidentally, this happens to be post #420 @ ~Mind^Blogging~…so no more being a 420! 😉

Bachelor’s last words: If you are an electronics freak, buy all that you want to – before marriage – cos once you are hitched, you are done in. (unless she too happens to be one!) 🙂

Note: Thanks Shanthi, for suggesting to write on this front! 🙂

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2010 in About me, I~do~such~things, Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Last Bachelor Post! ;)

  1. Swathi Pradeep

    November 3, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    ROFL!!
    That was a funny post 😛 tie for Rs 1399/-
    dude, ur surely richie rich!! 🙂 Lucky Su 🙂
    Congrats on your forthcoming wedding and welcome aboard!! 🙂 🙂

     
  2. Anindita

    November 4, 2010 at 12:53 am

    Interesting as always 🙂
    All the very best for the new phase of life.. 🙂

     
  3. Shruti

    November 4, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    good luck for the new phase of lyf buddy 🙂

    n congo!!

     
  4. shanthi

    November 4, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Getting married is wonderful(if the men remember it!!!):-D it is nice to own and to be owned sombody…being committed is sexy now…

    looks like the introvert is getting married(is the other one available?):-) u probly broke som hearts tude!..lOst bachelor wud hav brought more women asking when, where?…

    u shud hav written the blog in konkani…so it is the MOTHER’s tongue after all..:lol:
    dont forget to invite the sisters and fraands for the wedding…(sree’s autograph!!)

    it is ok to get a tie for 1399…but dont forget to spend 100 and get a lock and key..;-)
    and u r only losing the bad things which is worth anyway for the good things to come(wunt tell u now..as u r still a bachelor and not eligible..):P

    hey…who said women hate electronics?…u can buy all u want under the sky…we just get the remotes..8)
    and i am sure u wunt loose ur creative mind after wedding..coz the most creative things happen when u r in love and pain!…JK..

    U R ALWAYS A SWEETHEART.. last or first…bachelor or married 😉
    Happy shopping and hav a great wedding…Titanic is waiting!.

     
  5. Himanshu

    November 5, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Aww Sree. I guess I was anticipating a post of this kind from you from quite some time. Your distinct style, the refreshing touch – believe me, its just the perfect thing to pep me up past midnight when I am still fiddling with an assignment! Arrrggghh!

    Anyway, I can sense the excitement from every line of the post and I am deliriously happy for the both of you. As someone has rightly said, change is the only constant and I would further say that it is the reason for life to flow… Sometimes through rough rapids, sometime calm and serene and finally meet the vastness of ocean..

    Phew! I did get boringly philosophical up there. I wonder if thats the effect of sleepless nights (and thats only because of the assignments. Clarifying before your ‘poetic’ mind starts running haywire!)

    So my dear soon-not-to-remain-bachelor friend :mrgreen: , Cling on to every bit of joy and happiness for that is what is going to make every phase of life marvelous!

    Hearty hearty congratulations to both Su and You! (Yo! that totally rhymes 😉 )

    Happy Landings!! 🙂

     
  6. Ellen

    November 9, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    LOL un-flirting to unwind 😀 I bet thats the part you will not miss.
    Wish you all the best, I hope you pass your marriage degree with flying colours although it will take a lifetime to complete. 😉

     
  7. Deepa

    November 11, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Been thr, done that… Aah, the good ol’ single days dissolve to blissful wedded life! Good luck, Sree!
    And a tie for a four figure amount.. Sigh, your wife’s gonna be happy you wear good stuff!

    I never let Hari see bills for stuff I get him 🙂 he’ll go berserk if he sees 4 digit figures after the Rs. sign!

    P.S: If you go to the UK sometime, stay away from Savile Row 😉 n do visit Tie Rack.

     
  8. Sree

    December 28, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Thanks Swathi 🙂

    Thanks Anindita 🙂

    Thanks Shruti 🙂

    Wow…thanks Shanthi for the titanic comment 😉

    hehe..Himanshu, you know how we guys are 😛 Safely landed! 😉 Thanks 🙂

    Wont miss..thanks El! 🙂

    lol..thanks Deepa 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
