RSS

Of that Choice You Should Make! :)

29 Jul

It was just another Friday and I was so relieved to get back home at the end of the day. Riding my two wheeler, I had just crossed the Pallikarnai marshes that I saw a man wave a white flag thereby indicating the vehicles to move over to the newly laid road from the road we were currently on. I remember riding at the 30-40km/hr speed when I moved over to the new road and then things blanked out….The time was around 6:30pm.
Of what I remember over the next one hour is this:
I was being repeatedly asked to get on the pillion seat of a stranger’s bike, by another stranger.
I finally did that, all by myself, exactly what the stranger was requesting and sat pillion on a bike – not knowing, not asking, not bothering where I was heading to.
I remember getting down from the bike, before I blanked out again.

When I re-gained my senses next, I was on the hospital bed with the nurse asking me my name to fill out a form, mandatory for receiving further treatment. Not being able to recollect, I requested her to give me some time and she agreed.
Meanwhile, First Aid treatment was being administered by a junior doctor by the bedside. The stranger (kudos to him, for doing all that he did!) was standing beside me looking at me blankly, maybe just reflecting my expression. There were stitches being sewn on the little finger of my right hand and the other cuts on the same hand were being wrapped with antiseptics and bandages by two doctors simultaneously.
The stranger offered his cell phone so that I could call up my family and inform. I called up my mom & wife (she was out of Chennai) and though I could get to hear their phone ring, strangely none picked up my calls. After he paid my bills, I was dropped by him (again pillion ride) to my home by 8:00pm.

Only after reaching home did I come to my actual senses. I got myself introduced to the stranger as well as asked about him (and his bank details to transfer all the moolah he had spent on my treatment and medications!).
Since my cell phone was damaged during the fall, I moved the sim card to the spare cell phone at home. And then again, I tried calling up my mom/wife to inform about the incident. This time both picked the call and were at their advising best! 😀 They hadn’t received the previous call from the hospital – and I believe I had earlier dialed wrong numbers (of the two numbers, I remember)!! I left for Bangalore that night, for 3 weeks of bed rest for the X-rays revealed hairline fractures in 4 of my ribs!

Looking back, as to how I managed to not hurt myself elsewhere I decided to go take a look at my HELMET. There was a huge crack at the jaw line and skull area.
So in short, I wouldn’t have been writing this post and the posts I published since March this year, if not for the HELMET I CHOSE TO WEAR! #truestory

Life is short, just 100 odd years….Life span is shorter, just about 60-80 years….how much you want to live, is your choice.
Life always gives you two options, for every situation. The result of it, depends on what you choose!
So when you drive: Choose to wear a HELMET (with the buckle on) when you ride a two-wheeler and Choose to wear that BELT (buckled again…not hand held) when you drive a four-wheeler. Not the other option!

Drive safe and choose to live on,  for one another ride/drive! 🙂

PS: I’m much better now, though I’ve not yet started riding that two-wheeler again!! Soon… 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2012 in Candid, Happens~2~me, I~do~such~things, Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Of that Choice You Should Make! :)

  1. Amrita

    July 29, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    wish you a fast recovery ..
    the description of the after-accident was very accurate .. the state of being numb and doing what others are telling you to do ..
    and thank heavens for the stranger who helped you :)’

     
  2. tikulicious

    July 29, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    Good advice. I remember that tough time. Glad you wore the helmet and even more glad that you did not receive any big injuries. Life teaches in more than one ways Sree. I hope people will take some lessons here. xx

     
  3. chandramouli suresh

    July 30, 2012 at 2:36 am

    Thanks to your helmet you can smile and write about such things… something you missed is to mention its brand 😀 coz I do know of some helmets that can get dented by a cricket ball?

     
  4. Ghata

    July 30, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    Good to hear that you are fine!
    And am sure hearing about the importance of safety belts/helmets straight from the “horse’s mouth” should def encourage people to follow!

     
  5. Himanshu

    July 30, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Oh Boy! That’s a shocker (quite literally).
    I hope you get well very soon and head back to the streets of Chennai Nagaram!

     
  6. metherebel

    August 3, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    Hope you recover soon Sree! Take care 🙂

    God Bless the stranger!

     
  7. Sree

    August 16, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Thanks Amrita 🙂
    Thanks Tiku 🙂
    Thanks Mouli 🙂
    Thanks Ghata 🙂 Welcome here 🙂
    Thanks Himanshu 🙂 Nice weirdness in the pic 😉
    Thanks metherebel 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
